New Delhi440C
Saturday, June 15, 2024

Asia Cup 2023

After a lot of uncertainty, the Asia Cup is finally here. Marred by controversy surrounding its venue, schedule, the ACC, the coldness between BCCI and PCB and what not, the tournament was as good as gone until a few months back. But fortunately, after a long deadlock, the acceptance of the Hybrid Model paved the way for its grand return.

The Asia Cup 2023 is set to showcase the return of Asia's cricketing giants as they vie for supremacy and gear up for the highly anticipated World Cup in India. Six teams in India, Bangladesh, Afghanistan, Pakistan, Nepal, and defending champions Sri Lanka, will fiercely compete for a spot in the final. The tournament will consist of a total of 13 matches – four in Pakistan and nine in Sri Lanka – featuring a straightforward format. Four out of the six teams will advance to the Super 4s, and the top two will face off in an epic clash to determine the ultimate champion.

This edition of the Asia Cup is poised to be an action-packed spectacle. Making a comeback in its full 50-overs format, the tournament has historically served as a platform for Asia's cricketing powerhouses to fine-tune themselves ahead of the World Cup. After a five-year hiatus, ODIs are once again the format of choice. The previous 50-over Asia Cup took place in 2018, with India emerging victorious by defeating Bangladesh in an enthralling final.

This tournament marks the 12th edition of the Asia Cup, a competition that has witnessed awe-inspiring performances from both individuals and teams since its inception in 1984. Notably, India holds the title of the most successful team, having clinched the championship a record seven times. Sri Lanka secured their sixth title in the UAE last year, further solidifying their stature as a force to be reckoned with in the tournament's history.

The path to the Super 4s and the final will be determined by the accumulation of points throughout the tournament. The six teams will be divided into two groups of three. Group A comprises India, Pakistan, and Nepal, while Group B features Sri Lanka, Bangladesh, and Afghanistan. Each victory will earn a team 2 points, while a defeat will result in zero points. In the event of a tie, the points will be split equally with 1 point each. Additionally, the net run-rate will serve as a tiebreaker when teams find themselves with an equal number of points, adding an extra layer of suspense to the competition.

…read more

Points Table - 2023

PosTeamMatchesWonLostTiedNRPointsNRRSeries Form
2SRI LANKASri Lanka321004-0.134

Asia Cup Insights

Overall winners

2018, 2016, 2010, 1995, 1990-91, 1988, 1984

Host Top Winners

2022, 2014, 2008, 2004, 1997, 1986,


    Winner History

    Year Winner Runner-Up Player of the Series Venue
    2022 Winner LogoSri Lanka170/6 RunnerUp LogoPakistan140/10 Bhanuka Rajapaksa (Sri Lanka) Dubai
    2018 Winner LogoIndia223/7 RunnerUp LogoBangladesh222/10 Shikhar Dhawan (India) Dubai
    2016 Winner LogoIndia122/2 RunnerUp LogoBangladesh120/10 Sabbir Rahman (Bangladesh) Dhaka
    2014 Winner LogoSri Lanka261/5 RunnerUp LogoPakistan260/10 Lahiru Thirimanne (Sri Lanka) Dhaka

    Asia Cup FAQ

    • Which country will host the Asia Cup 2023?

      The Asia Cup 2023 will be co-hosted by Pakistan and Sri Lanka as per the hybrid model proposed by the Asian Cricket Council

    • Will India go to Pakistan for Asia Cup 2023?

      No, India will play all their Asia Cup matches in Sri Lanka as per the Hybrid Model

    • Will Asia Cup 2023 be contested in T20 or ODIs?

      The Asia Cup 2023 will be contested in 50-overs format given the ODI World Cup in India later this year

    • How many teams are participating in the Asia Cup 2023?

      India, Pakistan, Sri Lanka, Afghanistan, Bangladesh and Nepal will compete for the Asia Cup 2023 title

    • When will the Asia Cup 2023 start?

      The Asia Cup 2023 will begin from August 30 with Pakistan taking on Nepal in the tournament opener

    • What is the format for Asia Cup 2023?

      A total of 13 matches are expected to be played in the Asia Cup, and its format is as uncomplicated as they come. Four out of six teams will qualify for the Super 4s, after which the top two will clash for the title in the final

    • Which team is the defending champion of the Asia Cup?

      Six-time winners Sri Lanka are the defending Asia Cup champions having won the crown last year after defeating Pakistan in the final