New Delhi300C
Saturday, July 13, 2024

Asia Cup 2023 Winners List

The 16th edition of the Asia Cup provides an opportunity to some of the sub-continent's heavyweights to send a warning to oppositions ahead of the World Cup. India, Sri Lanka, Pakistan, Bangladesh, Nepal and Afghanistan will be involved in a six-way battle, with the winner officially crowned the champion of Asia. Over the years, the Asia Cup has been dominated by mostly two teams: India, who are the most successful team having clinched the title 7 times, and Sri Lanka who have been crowned winners 6 times. 1992 World Cup winners Pakistan are next in line with 2 title wins – in 2000 and 2012 - but barring the three sub-continent giants, the likes of Bangladesh and Afghanistan have always returned empty-handed. Will this year be any different? Will the two underdogs slay the beasts that are India, Pakistan and Sri Lanka? These questions will be answered soon. Below is the list of all past winners of the Asia Cup from 1984 to 2022

1984: India

1986: Sri Lanka

1988: India

1990: India

1995: India

1997: Sri Lanka

2000: Pakistan

2004: Sri Lanka

2008: Sri Lanka

2010: India

2012: Pakistan

2014: Sri Lanka

2016: India

2018: India

2022: Sri Lanka

…read more
YearWinnerRunner UpPlayer of the SeriesVenue
2022RunnerUp LogoSri LankaSL170/6RunnerUp LogoPakistanPAK140/10Bhanuka Rajapaksa (Sri Lanka)Dubai
2018RunnerUp LogoIndiaIND223/7RunnerUp LogoBangladeshBAN222/10Shikhar Dhawan (India)Dubai
2016RunnerUp LogoIndiaIND122/2RunnerUp LogoBangladeshBAN120/10Sabbir Rahman (Bangladesh)Dhaka
2014RunnerUp LogoSri LankaSL261/5RunnerUp LogoPakistanPAK260/10Lahiru Thirimanne (Sri Lanka)Dhaka
2012RunnerUp LogoPakistanPAK236/9RunnerUp LogoBangladeshBAN234/8Shakib Al Hasan(Bangladesh)Dhaka
2010RunnerUp LogoIndiaIND268/6RunnerUp LogoSri LankaSL187/10Shahid Afridi (Pakistan)Dambulla
2008RunnerUp LogoSri LankaSL273/7RunnerUp LogoIndiaIND173/10Ajantha Mendis (Sri Lanka)Karachi
2004RunnerUp LogoSri LankaSL228/9RunnerUp LogoIndiaIND203/9Sanath Jayasuriya (Sri Lanka)Colombo
2000RunnerUp LogoPakistanPAK277/4RunnerUp LogoSri LankaSL238/10Mohammad Yousuf (Pakistan)Dhaka
1997RunnerUp LogoSri LankaSL240/2RunnerUp LogoIndiaIND239/7Arjuna Ranatunga (Sri Lanka)Colombo
1995RunnerUp LogoIndiaIND233/2RunnerUp LogoSri LankaSL230/7Navjot Sidhu (India)Sharjah
1990-91RunnerUp LogoIndiaIND205/3RunnerUp LogoSri LankaSL204/9N/AKolkata
1988RunnerUp LogoIndiaIND180/4RunnerUp LogoSri LankaSL176/10Navjot Sidhu (India)Dhaka
1986RunnerUp LogoSri LankaSL195/5RunnerUp LogoPakistanPAK191/9Arjuna Ranatunga (Pakistan)Colombo
1984RunnerUp LogoIndiaIND97/0RunnerUp LogoSri LankaSL96/10Surinder Khanna (India)Sharjah

Asia Cup winner list FAQ

  • Have Bangladesh ever won the Asia Cup?

    Bangladesh came perilously close to winning the Asia Cup in 2012 and 2018, making the final, but lost the summit clash to Pakistan and India respectively.

  • When did Sri Lanka win the Asia Cup?

    Sri Lanka have won the Asia Cup six times – in 1986, 1997, 2004, 2008, 2014 and 2022

  • Have Pakistan ever won the Asia Cup?

    Pakistan have won the Asia Cup twice – in 2000 and 2012

  • What all editions of the Asia Cup have India won?

    India won the Asia Cup in 1984, 1988, 1990, 1995, 2010, 2016 and 2018

  • Which is the most successful team in the Asia Cup?

    ndia are the most successful team in the Asia Cup having won the title 7 times

  • When did the first-ever Asia Cup cricket tournament take place?

    The inaugural edition of the Asia Cup took place in 1984 after the formation of the Asian Cricket Council (ACC) the previous year