New Delhi300C
Friday, July 19, 2024

India vs Zimbabwe

After the 2024 T20 World Cup excitement, cricket fans now have an India vs Zimbabwe series to look forward to. India is set to play five T20Is against Zimbabwe in Harare on July 6, 7, 10, 13, and 14. This series promises to be a thrilling contest between the two teams, with both sides eager to showcase their talent and secure a series win.

India in Zimbabwe in T20Is

The cricketing history between India and Zimbabwe in T20Is is filled with memorable moments. In 2010, India played T20Is against Zimbabwe and emerged victorious in both matches by six wickets and seven wickets, respectively. The 2015 series was a closely fought battle, with each team winning one match, resulting in a drawn series. In 2016, India clinched the series 2-1, further establishing their dominance in the format.

India's Squad for the Zimbabwe Tour

The IND vs ZIM 2024 series will see some fresh faces in the Indian squad. Shubman Gill has been named the captain of the India T20I squad, a decision that reflects the selectors' faith in his leadership abilities. Alongside him, Abhishek Sharma, Riyan Parag and Tushar Deshpande have received their maiden India call-ups after impressive performances in IPL 2024.

Dhruv Jurel, who made his Test debut earlier this year against England, has been included as the second wicketkeeper, marking his first call-up to the T20I squad. Yashasvi Jaiswal and Sanju Samson are the only players from India's T20 World Cup squad who will also travel to Zimbabwe, as the rest of the World Cup squad members have been given a break after the tournament.

Notably, Nitish Kumar Reddy, who was set for his international debut, has been sidelined due to an injury. In his place, Shivam Dube has been included in the 15-member squad.

Key Players to Watch

Shubman Gill: As the captain, Gill's leadership and batting will be crucial for India's success. His experience and form will be vital in guiding the team through the series.

Abhishek Sharma: After a stellar IPL 2024 season with Sunrisers Hyderabad, where he scored 484 runs at a strike rate of 204.21, Abhishek Sharma's aggressive batting will be a key asset for India.

Riyan Parag: Parag had a breakout season with Rajasthan Royals, scoring 573 runs, and will look to continue his impressive form in the international arena.

Tushar Deshpande: The top wicket-taker for Chennai Super Kings in IPL 2024, Deshpande's bowling will be critical in providing breakthroughs for India.

The Zimbabwe national cricket team will be eager to challenge India and prove their mettle in the T20 format. Playing on home soil, they will have the advantage of familiar conditions and home crowd support. Zimbabwe's players will aim to capitalise on this and deliver strong performances against a formidable Indian side.

India vs Zimbabwe 2024 Schedule

The India vs Zimbabwe 2024 schedule is as follows:

1st T20I: July 6, Harare
2nd T20I: July 7, Harare
3rd T20I: July 10, Harare
4th T20I: July 13, Harare
5th T20I: July 14, Harare

Coach and Preparations

With Rahul Dravid's tenure ending with the T20 World Cup, VVS Laxman will take over as the interim coach for the Zimbabwe tour. Laxman's experience and strategic acumen will be invaluable for the team, providing guidance and support to the young squad.

The team is expected to leave for Zimbabwe on July 1, allowing them a few days to acclimatise to the conditions and prepare for the series. The preparations will be crucial, as the players will need to quickly adapt to the pitch and weather conditions in Harare.

Injuries and Replacements

The absence of Tilak Varma due to an injury is a significant blow to the team. Varma, who has been impressive since his debut, is undergoing rehab at the NCA in Bangalore. However, the inclusion of talented players like Abhishek Sharma and Riyan Parag ensures that the team remains balanced and competitive.

The Zimbabwe vs India series in 2024 promises to be an exciting contest, with both teams eager to perform and secure a series win. The Ind vs Zim 2024 squad features a mix of experienced players and young talent, providing a perfect blend for great cricket. The cricket fans can look forward to thrilling matches, exceptional performances and memorable moments as India takes on Zimbabwe in this three-match T20I series.

With a rich history of competitive cricket between the two nations, the Ind vs Zim series is set to add another exciting chapter to their rivalry. Keep an eye on the India vs Zimbabwe 2024 schedule and get ready to witness some high-quality cricket action in Harare.

India Squad for T20Is in Zimbabwe

Shubman Gill (capt), Yashasvi Jaiswal, Ruturaj Gaikwad, Abhishek Sharma, Rinku Singh, Sanju Samson (wk), Dhruv Jurel (wk), Shivam Dube, Riyan Parag, Washington Sundar, Ravi Bishnoi, Avesh Khan, Khaleel Ahmed, Mukesh Kumar, Tushar Deshpande.

Follow the India vs Zimbabwe T20I series on Crickit to stay updated with live scores, match highlights and in-depth match analysis. Don't miss any action from this exciting series on Crickit, your ultimate cricket destination.
Read Less...Read More

India vs Zimbabwe Most Runs and Most Wickets

Shubman Gill
170 Runs
Washington Sundar
8 Wickets

India vs Zimbabwe 2024 FAQ

  • When will the India vs Zimbabwe T20I series start in 2024?

    The India vs Zimbabwe series will start from July 6.

  • Who has been named the India captain for the Zimbabwe series?

    Shubman Gill will lead the India squad in the Zimbabwe series.

  • What is the schedule for the India vs Zimbabwe 2024 series?

    India and Zimbabwe will play five T20Is on July 6, 7, 10, 13, 14.

  • Who is the interim coach of India during the Zimbabwe tour?

    VVS Laxman will be the coach of India during the Zimbabwe tour.

News Cricket News India vs Zimbabwe