IPL History: Get the complete IPL History from 2008 to 2022 along with Results, Winners, Runners-up, Orange Cap and Purple Cap Holders | Crickit

IPL History

The popularity and the craze surrounding the IPL is such that an auction is held each year for teams to fine-tune their team combinations. Each year, the IPL goes a long way in determining the future course of action for players as well as their international teams. Over the last 15 years, Mumbai Indians have emerged to become the most successful franchise in IPL history winning the title a record five times, making Rohit Sharma the most elite captain in the league. Behind him is MS Dhoni, having led Chennai Super Kings to four IPL wins. Kolkata Knight Riders have won the trophy once, while Sunrisers Hyderabad, Rajasthan Royals and Gujarat Titans have lifted the trophy once. Delhi Capitals, Royal Challengers Bangalore and Punjab Kings haven't tasted success even once. Heading into the IPL 2023, Mumbai Indians, the most successful franchise with a record 5 titles, will be hoping to clinch their sixth, whereas the Chennai Super Kings would be keen to equal MI's tally of five IPL wins. Besides these two IPL behemoths, Kolkata Knight Riders are two-time IPL winners, while Rajasthan Royals, Sunrisers Hyderabad and Gujarat Titans have been winners once.

Will the wait end for Punjab Kings, RCB an Delhi Capitals?

Punjab Kings, Royal Challengers Bangalore and the Delhi Capitals are the only franchises from the original 8 teams to have never won the IPL. All three of these teams have reached the final but failed to cross the line. Will this year end the wait for one of these super talented franchises?

Explore the captivating history of the IPL on Crickit, your ultimate cricketing destination! From inaugural triumphs to legendary showdowns, dive into the archives and discover the milestones that shaped the IPL. With Crickit, relive the iconic moments that define cricketing greatness and the IPL legacy.

...read more

2022 Winner: GTGujarat Titans

2022 Score


IPL 2022 Winner: Gujarat Titans

2020 Winner: MIMumbai Indians

2019 Winner: MIMumbai Indians

2019 Score


IPL 2019 Winner: Mumbai Indians

2017 Winner: MIMumbai Indians

2017 Score


IPL 2017 Winner: Mumbai Indians

2015 Winner: MIMumbai Indians

2015 Score


IPL 2015 Winner: Mumbai Indians

2013 Winner: MIMumbai Indians

2013 Score


IPL 2013 Winner: Mumbai Indians

2009 Winner: DCHDeccan Chargers

2009 Score


IPL 2009 Winner: Deccan Chargers

2008 Winner: RRRajasthan Royals

[ipl news]

Harshit Rana on if he'll sledge Kohli with flying kiss: 'People dared me to...'

Published on Jun 17, 2024 03:12 PM IST

Harshit Rana answered the million-dollar question: Will he or not unleash the flying-kiss celebration against Virat Kohli?

Harshit Rana's (L) flying kiss made more news that his wickets tally in IPL 2024.(Screengrab/AFP)

Pant on Rahul-Goenka post-match saga: 'I get scolded every day but I'm stubborn'

Rishabh Pant shared what he felt of the controversial post-match scenes featuring KL Rahul and LSG owner Sanjiv Goenka during IPL 2024.

KL Rahul (L) and Rishabh Pant during the IPL 2024(PTI)
Updated on Jun 17, 2024 12:54 PM IST

IPL business value surges to $16.4 billion, says study

Chennai Super Kings is valued No.1 on brand and business parameters among the 10 IPL franchises, says a study by US investment bank Houlihan Lokey

Kolkata Knight Riders' captain Shreyas Iyer along with teammates Andre Russell, Rinku Singh and others celebrate as they lift the Indian Premier League 2024 trophy(ANI)
Published on Jun 12, 2024 08:30 PM IST

Pulling out of IPL best thing for me moving forward into this World Cup: Zampa

Pulling out of IPL best thing for me moving forward into this World Cup: Zampa

Pulling out of IPL best thing for me moving forward into this World Cup: Zampa
Published on Jun 09, 2024 11:09 AM IST

Rishabh Pant opens up on sledging Virat Kohli: 'I didn't give him a chance to…'

Rishabh Pant spoke about teasing and sledging Virat Kohli recently during an IPL match last month.

Virat Kohli and Rishabh Pant during India's training session.(Getty)
Updated on Jun 09, 2024 12:56 PM IST

'Selector told him to work on batting, fielding': Nayar explains KKR star's snub

Varun Chakaravarthy has not been a part of the Indian team since his appearance in the T20 World Cup in 2021.

Chennai: Kolkata Knight Riders players celebrate with the Indian Premier League (IPL) 2024 trophy after winning the final match against Sunrisers Hyderabad at MA Chidambaram Stadium(PTI)
Published on Jun 08, 2024 04:23 PM IST

‘Sympathy bator raha tha IPL ke baad’: Hardik Pandya-Nataša Stanković trolled

Nataša Stanković’s latest post has hinted at a reconciliation with husband Hardik Pandya. While fans are delighted, trolls have interesting accusations

Hardik and Natasa
Published on Jun 06, 2024 01:44 PM IST

Hardik faces awkward 'feels like Mumbai here' question but handles it like a pro

Hardik Pandya's mind may have harked back to the IPL being asked the question 'feels like Mumbai in New York. Is it fun?'

Hardik Pandya's expressions shows he wasn't expecting a Mumbai reference in New York(Screengrab)
Updated on Jun 06, 2024 02:57 PM IST

Green ready to 'plug holes' for Australia after IPL roles

CRICKET-T20WORLDCUP-AUS/ (PIX):Cricket-Green ready to 'plug holes' for Australia after IPL roles

Green ready to 'plug holes' for Australia after IPL roles
Published on Jun 04, 2024 11:38 AM IST
Reuters |

Hardik Pandya receives strong support from Ian Bishop for WC turnaround

Ian Bishop has come out in support of Hardik Pandya after his whirlwind knock against Bangladesh at the T20 World Cup.

Bishop feels fans could have approached Hardik's captaincy situation a little differently in the IPL 2024(Getty Images)
Published on Jun 03, 2024 05:32 PM IST
By, New Delhi

[ IPL History FAQ ]

Chris Gayle is known as the most dangerous batsman in IPL history

MI, known as Mumbai Indians, have qualified for IPL playoffs 9 times in IPL history

Mumbai Indians, with five titles, are regarded as the best team in IPL history

Sam Curran is the most expensive player in IPL history. He was purchased for 18.5 crore by Punjab Kings

Chennai Super Kings have scored 200 a total of 24 times in IPL history

Albie Morkel holds the record for hitting the longest six in IPL history with a distance of 125 meters

Rohit Sharma and MS Dhoni are the two best captains in IPL history

Virat Kohli, Dwayne Bravo, Suresh Raina and Lasith Malinga are considered the best players in IPL history

Albie Morkel holds the record for hitting the longest six in IPL history with a distance of 125 meters

RCB have scored the lowest total in IPL history of 49

Chennai Super Kings with 122 wins have won most matches in IPL history

Story Saved
Live Score
Saved Articles
My Reads
Sign out
New Delhi 0C
Tuesday, June 18, 2024
Start 14 Days Free Trial Subscribe Now
Follow Us On