New Delhi320C
Monday, July 22, 2024

IPL 2024 Schedule

IPL 2024 Schedule: The IPL 2024 which started on March 22 culminated on May 26 with Kolkata Knight Riders winning the third IPL title after beating Sunrisers Hyderabad by eight wickets in Chennai.

Mitchell Starc delivered what could be considered the best ball of the tournament, showcasing KKR's formidable bowling attack, which proved too much for Sunrisers Hyderabad. On a pitch that provided seam movement for at least seven overs and later some spin, SRH was dismissed for the lowest score ever in an IPL final, 113. KKR easily chased down the target with 57 balls remaining, propelled by Venkatesh Iyer's explosive 52 off 26 balls.

An initial IPL 2024 schedule from March 22 to April 7 was announced on February 22, as the BCCI were waiting for the Election Commission of India to announce dates for the general elections, which would now be held in seven phases from April 19 to June 1.

There were murmurs of the tournament moving out of India because of the general elections in the country. However, BCCI, on March 25 confirmed that all the 74 matches are to be played in India, by releasing the full IPL 2024 schedule.

The Narendra Modi Stadium in Ahmedabad will host the first qualifier and the eliminator on May 21 and May 22 respectively. The MA Chidambaram stadium in Chennai will host the second qualifier on May 24, followed by the final on May 26. The last league game of IPL 2024 will be played in Guwahati on May 19, between Rajasthan Royals and Kolkata Knight Riders.

Second home grounds

Apart from the home stadiums of the respective franchises, this edition of the IPL will have Visakhapatnam, Dharamsala and Guwahati as second home venues for Delhi Capitals, Punjab Kings and Rajasthan Royals respectively. These three venues will host two matches each.

Two matches rescheduled

On April 2, IPL announced rescheduling of two matches after Kolkata was unable to host the KKR vs RR game on April 17 due to Ram Navami celebrations in the city. In order to accommodate the match, the IPL organisers moved the game to a day earlier (April 16), and pushed Gujarat Titans home game against Delhi to April 17, originally scheduled on April 16.

The rescheduling was done after Cricket Association of Bengal informed the BCCI about the security situation in the city. Moreover, Kolkata Police expressed inability to provide security cover for the match because of the Ram Navami celebrations.

IPL 2024: total matches, teams

The 17th edition of IPL will have 74 matches in total with 10 teams taking part and they are Chennai Super Kings, Royal Challengers Bengaluru, Mumbai Indians, Rajasthan Royals, Kolkata Knight Riders, Gujarat Titans, Sunrisers Hyderabad, Delhi Capitals, Lucknow Super Giants and Punjab Kings.

IPL 2024 format

The 10 teams have been divided into two groups, with each team playing 14 games in the league stage. The top two teams in the points table clash in qualifier 1, while the third and fourth placed teams play the eliminator. The winner of the eliminator plays against the loser of the first qualifier in qualifier 2. The winners of qualifier 1 and 2, lock horns in the final.

IPL 2024 match timings

Most of the fixtures in IPL 2024 are evening games starting at 7:30 pm, while on double-header days, the first match starts at 3:30 pm.

Checkout for all the latest matches (RR vs RCB Live Score) and updates, including the race for the IPL Orange Cap and Purple Cap.

Plan your timings throughout the IPL 2024 season with Crickit's comprehensive schedule. Stay organised and never miss a match with our detailed fixture list. From thrilling league matches to nail-biting knockout games, Crickit has your IPL schedule needs covered.

Read Less...Read More
Royal Challengers Bengaluru
Chennai Super Kings
Delhi Capitals
Punjab Kings
Kolkata Knight Riders
Sunrisers Hyderabad
Rajasthan Royals
Lucknow Super Giants
Gujarat Titans
Mumbai Indians
MA Chidambaram Stadium, Chennai
Maharaja Yadavindra Singh International Cricket Stadium, Mullanpur, Mohali
Eden Gardens, Kolkata
Sawai Mansingh Stadium, Jaipur
Narendra Modi Stadium, Ahmedabad
M.Chinnaswamy Stadium, Bengaluru
Rajiv Gandhi International Stadium, Hyderabad
Bharat Ratna Shri Atal Bihari Vajpayee Ekana Cricket Stadium, Lucknow
Dr. Y.S. Rajasekhara Reddy ACA-VDCA Cricket Stadium, Visakhapatnam
Wankhede Stadium, Mumbai
Arun Jaitley Stadium, Delhi
Himachal Pradesh Cricket Association Stadium, Dharamsala
Barsapara Cricket Stadium, Guwahati
ABANDONEDMatch 63, Ahmedabad, May 13, 2024
Match Abandoned without toss
ABANDONEDMatch 66, Hyderabad, May 16, 2024
Match Abandoned without toss
ABANDONEDMatch 70, Guwahati, May 19, 2024
Match Abandoned

FAQs IPL 2024:

  • When did IPL 2024 start?

    The IPL 2024 got underway on March 22, 2024

  • Who played the first match of IPL 2024?

    The first match of IPL 2024 was played between hosts Chennai Super Kings and Royal Challengers Bengaluru?

  • Why was the IPL 2024 schedule for only 21 matches announced initially?

    The IPL had initially announced the schedule for first 15 days and 21 matches due to non-cricketing reasons. As the dates for the general elections were yet to be announced, the IPL played it safe, before eventually releasing the remainder of the schedule in due time.

  • When was the remaining IPL 2024 schedule announce?

    The full schedule of IPL 2024 was announced on March 25.

  • Where and when are the playoffs for IPL 2024 being held?

    The Narendra Modi Stadium in Ahmedabad will host the Qualifier 1 and the Eliminator on May 21 and 22 respectively, after which the action shifts down south. Chennai's MA Chidambaram Stadium will then host the Qualifier 2 and the final on May 24 and 26 respectively.

  • When and where will the IPL 2024 final take place?

    The IPL 2024 final will take place in Chennai on May 26.

News Cricket IPL 2024 IPL 2024 Schedule