New Delhi340C
Wednesday, May 22, 2024

CSK Squad IPL 2024

CSK Squad IPL 2024: Chennai Super Kings started their title defence against Royal Challengers Bangalore in the season opener of the IPL 2024, at their own den, Chepauk, on March 22. The five-time champions have added quality to their batting line-up by signing the New Zealand stars Daryl Mitchell and Rachin Ravindra. While Shardul Thakur made a homecoming to the franchise which got the best out of him in the past. Meanwhile, to replace Ambati Rayudu in the middle-order, CSK splashed massive money on uncapped batter Sameer Rizvi (INR 8.4 crore). Before the start of IPL 2024, MS Dhoni gave up his captaincy duties, with CSK appointing Ruturaj Gaikwad as his successor.

Dhoni led CSK to five title wins and the team has finished below fourth place twice. The franchise is owned by India Cements, of which N Srinivasan is the chairman.

After losing in the final of 2008 IPL off the last ball and crashing out in the semifinal of 2009 edition, CSK won the next two seasons in 2010 and 2011. In the next four years, they could not progress beyond the knockout stage and were banned for two years because of a spot-fixing scandal. In their comeback year in 2018, from being called the "Dad's Army", they won their third IPL title.

In 2019 they lost by just one-run in a thrilling final against Mumbai Indians. The next season with the IPL moving to the UAE because of Covid, CSK finished bottom of the table. The next season they were back playing their top game as they beat Kolkata Knight Riders in the final. They struggled in the 2022 season and finished at the bottom half of the standings, but in 2023 they again made it to the finals and beat Gujarat Titans to lift their fifth IPL title.

CSK have been one of the most consistent teams in the IPL history and the only blot has to be the spot-fixing and betting controversy that got them banned for two years. In the 2020 season, Dhoni and CSK underperformed resulting in the team not qualifying to the playoffs for the first time. The start to the 2024 edition of the IPL has been full of promise so far under the leadership of Gaikwad, as CSK look to finish in the top-four of the points table and qualify for the playoffs, unless they misstep in the business end of the league stage.

Chennai Super Kings full squad: MS Dhoni, Moeen Ali, Deepak Chahar, Tushar Deshpande, Shivam Dube, Ruturaj Gaikwad (C), Rajvardhan Hangargekar, Ravindra Jadeja, Ajay Mandal, Mukesh Choudhary, Ajinkya Rahane, Shaik Rasheed, Mitchell Santner, Simarjeet Singh, Nishant Sindhu, Prashant Solanki, Maheesh Theekshana, Rachin Ravindra, Shardul Thakur, Daryl Mitchell, Sameer Rizvi, Mustafizur Rahman, Avanish Rao Aravelly, Devon Conway, Matheesha Pathirana.

Welcome to the Chennai Super Kings den on Crickit – your go-to destination for all things CSK! Dive into exclusive content, match highlights, player interviews, and more, dedicated to the yellow brigade. Experience the thrill of every CSK match with real-time updates, analysis and insights, only on Crickit.

Read Less...Read More

Chennai Super Kings FAQs

  • How many times have Chennai Super Kings won the IPL title?

    CSK have won the IPL title five times.

  • Who are the key players in the current CSK squad?

    Key players are MS Dhoni, Ravindra Jadeja, Ruturaj Gaikwad and Matheesha Pathirana.

  • Where do Chennai Super Kings play their home matches?

    Chennai Super Kings play their home matches at the MA Chidambaram Stadium, in Chennai, Tamil Nadu.

  • Who is the captain of Chennai Super Kings in IPL 2024?

    Ruturaj Gaikwad is the captain of the Chennai Super Kings.

News Cricket News IPL 2024 CSK Squad IPL 2024