New Delhi340C
Wednesday, May 22, 2024

MI Squad IPL 2024

Mumbai Indians (MI) are one of the most prolific teams in the Indian Premier League, with five titles. The franchise was bought by Reliance in 2008. MI had big players such as Sachin Tendulkar and Sanath Jayasuriya, with the franchise making an impression in the 2010 season by finishing runners-up.

In the next two years, Mumbai boosted their squad by signing up Zaheer Khan, Kieron Pollard, Rohit Sharma and Lasith Malinga, who was the highest wicket-taker in the 2011 season, and was the Player-of-Series in that year's Champions League T20. Rohit Sharma took charge as captain in 2013, the same year, Jasprit Bumrah too made his debut. It turned out to be a dream season for Mumbai as they won all their home games at Wankhede. After being tied for points with Chennai Super Kings, they beat them to win their maiden IPL title. The same season Tendulkar ended his IPL career with a title win.

Suryakumar Yadav, who joined the squad in 2010, has been a key player in the lineup along with Rohit and Jasprit Bumrah, the stalwarts of the Mumbai franchise. Pollard, who retired in 2022, is part of the Mumbai outfit as their batting coach.

From 2017 to 2020, were the best seasons for Mumbai Indians, who won the title thrice in those four seasons. The low point has to be the 2022 season when they finished at the bottom of the points table. In 2009, they finished seventh out of the eight teams playing in that edition. They finished fifth in seasons 2008, 2016 and 2018.

A new era begins at Mumbai Indians as they will be playing under a new leader - Hardik Pandya in IPL 2024, who made a sensational switch back to his former franchise in the trading window from Gujarat Titans. It will be interesting to see the team dynamics in the MI camp with Rohit Sharma playing under the leadership of Pandya for the first time. However, the return of Jasprit Bumrah will surely bolster their pace attack - as the franchise desperately missed him last season.

Mumbai Indians squad: Hardik Pandya (c), Rohit Sharma, Dewald Brevis, Suryakumar Yadav, Ishan Kishan, N. Tilak Varma, Tim David, Vishnu Vinod, Arjun Tendulkar, Shams Mulani, Nehal Wadhera, Jasprit Bumrah, Kumar Kartikeya, Piyush Chawla, Akash Madhwal, Luke Wood, Romario Shepherd, Gerald Coetzee, Shreyas Gopal, Nuwan Thushara, Naman Dhir, Anshul Kamboj, Mohammad Nabi, Shivalik Sharma, Luke Wood, Dilshan Madushanka.

Dive into the pulse of Mumbai Indians' action in IPL 2024, exclusively on Crickit! Immerse yourself in the electric atmosphere with captivating content, player narratives, and match highlights tailored for the MI faithful. Experience the thrill firsthand with Crickit's immersive coverage of the five-time champions.

Read Less...Read More

Mumbai Indians FAQs

  • How many times have Mumbai Indians won the IPL?

    Mumbai Indians have won the IPL five times.

  • Who is the current captain of Mumbai Indians?

    The current captain of Mumbai Indians is Hardik Pandya.

  • What are the team colours of Mumbai Indians?

    The team colours of Mumbai Indians are blue and gold.

  • Where do Mumbai Indians play their home matches?

    Mumbai Indians play their home matches at the Wankhede Stadium in Mumbai.

News Cricket News IPL 2024 MI Squad IPL 2024