New Delhi340C
Wednesday, May 22, 2024

SRH Squad IPL 2024

Sunrisers Hyderabad became part of Indian Premier League in 2013, after the previous Hyderabad-based franchise, Deccan Chargers was discontinued because of financial issues. The newly branded SRH franchise was bought by Sun TV Network.

The new franchise retained 20 players from the Deccan Chargers, with Kumar Sangakkara appointed captain. Along with Sangakkara, SRH tried out four captains - Cameron White, Daren Sammy and Shikhar Dhawan in the first two years. They struggled to put together the best combination on the field. In 2015, under the captaincy of David Warner the team looked in some sort of sync. SRH finished sixth that season.

The next edition in 2016, Warner retained as captain, led Sunrisers Hyderabad to their maiden IPL title. Along with Warner, the support staff of Tom Moody, VVS Laxman and Muthiah Muralidharan had a huge hand in SRH's success. The Afghanistan legspinner Rashid Khan became a key player, as SRH emerged as a strong team in the coming years of IPL.

Like all good things come to an end. Moody was replaced by Trevor Bayliss as head coach, who too left after a dismal 2021 season. Warner's poor form saw him dropped with Kane Williamson taking charge. In that season itself, SRH ended their association with Warner and Rashid. Laxman took charge of National Cricket Academy in Bengaluru, Moody who had retired as director of cricket in 2021, was appointed coach in 2022, to be replaced by Brian Lara later that year.

After finishing third on the points table in the 2016 season, SRH won three successive knockout games to win the IPL title, by beating Royal Challengers Bangalore. They made it to the finals in the 2018 IPL season. In the 2021 and 2023 seasons, SRH finished at the bottom of the table.

The 2016 IPL champions have made massive changes to their set-up by announcing new captain and head coach- Pat Cummins and Daniel Vettori for the IPL 2024 season. The franchise went big for Cummins in the IPL auction and signed him for a whopping INR 20 crore. SRH backed Cummins' recent glory with the Australian team in the ICC events, to bring back the IPL trophy which they won in 2016.

Sunrisers Hyderabad full squad: Abdul Samad, Abhishek Sharma, Aiden Markram, Marco Jansen, Rahul Tripathi, Washington Sundar, Glenn Phillips, Sanvir Singh, Heinrich Klaasen, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Mayank Agarwal, T. Natarajan, Anmolpreet Singh, Mayank Markande, Upendra Singh Yadav, Umran Malik, Nitish Kumar Reddy, Fazalhaq Farooqi, Shahbaz Ahmed, Travis Head, Wanindu Hasaranga, Pat Cummins (C), Jaydev Unadkat, Akash Singh, Jhathavedh Subramanyan.

Explore Sunrisers Hyderabad's journey on Crickit – your ultimate cricketing companion! Dive into exclusive insights, match highlights and player stories tailored for the SRH fans. Stay connected with the pulse of cricket, only on Crickit.

Read Less...Read More

Sunrisers Hyderabad FAQs

  • When did Sunrisers Hyderabad become part of the IPL?

    Sunrisers Hyderabad became part of IPL in 2013.

  • How many times has Sunrisers Hyderabad won the IPL?

    Sunrisers Hyderabad has won the IPL once, in 2016.

  • Who is the current captain of Sunrisers Hyderabad?

    The current captain of Sunrisers Hyderabad is Pat Cummins.

  • Where do Sunrisers Hyderabad play their home matches?

    Sunrisers Hyderabad play their home matches at the Rajiv Gandhi International Cricket Stadium in Hyderabad.

  • Who is the head coach of Sunrisers Hyderabad?

    The head coach of Sunrisers Hyderabad is Daniel Vettori.

News Cricket News IPL 2024 SRH Squad IPL 2024