IPL 2024 Teams: Complete Squads of all IPL Teams | Crickit by HT

IPL 2024 Teams

IPL Team and Squad 2024: The popularity and the need for more franchises prompted the BCCI to float two more teams, and in 2022 the Indian Premier League had 10 teams with the inclusion of Gujarat Titans and Lucknow Super Giants.

Gujarat had a dream IPL debut in 2022 when they lifted the trophy under the captaincy of Hardik Pandya and the next year they finished runners-up. The inaugural season of IPL in 2008, had seven teams competing against each other.

Pune Warriors India and Kochi Tuskers Kerala joined the IPL in 2011, but after one season, the Kochi franchise was terminated because it failed to pay the BCCI the 10 per cent bank guarantee element of the franchise fee. In September 2012, the franchise agreement of Deccan Chargers was terminated by the BCCI. An auction was held in October to find a replacement franchise, Sun TV Network won the bid and the new franchise was called Sunrisers Hyderabad. In 2013, Pune Warriors India exited the IPL due to financial differences with the BCCI.

In 2015, Chennai Super Kings and Rajasthan Royals were banned for two years for involvement in spot-fixing and betting scandals. The two replacement teams in those two years were Rising Pune Supergiant and Gujarat Lions.

The 10 teams who are part of the IPL 2024 season are: Chennai Super Kings, Delhi Capitals, Gujarat Titans, Kolkata Knight Riders, Lucknow Super Giants, Mumbai Indians, Punjab Kings, Rajasthan Royals, Royal Challengers Bengaluru and Sunrisers Hyderabad. CSK and MI are the most successful franchises in the league, having won the IPL title five times each. KKR have won twice while the SRH, GT and RR have lifted the trophy once.

Pandya has moved back to Mumbai in a trade back deal as their captain, while Shubman Gill will lead Gujarat Titans in quest for their third appearance in IPL final. Rishabh Pant after having fully recovered from the car crash injuries in December 2022, will lead the Delhi Capitals. Shikhar Dhawan has been retained as captain of Punjab Kings for IPL 2024, with KL Rahul will captain the Lucknow Super Giants in the 17th edition of the tournament.

This season, CSK will aim for their sixth title under the leadership of Ruturaj Gaikwad with MS Dhoni giving up the captaincy role. The World Cup-winning captain Pat Cummins will lead the Sunrisers Hyderabad, while Sanju Samson and Shreyas Iyer will lead Rajasthan Royals and Kolkata Knight Riders respectively. The fan favourites Royal Challengers Bengaluru will be led by South African Faf du Plessis.

The 10 teams have been divided into two groups, with each team playing 14 games in the league stage. The top two teams in the points table clash in qualifier 1, while the third and fourth placed teams play the eliminator. The winner of the eliminator plays against the loser of the first qualifier in qualifier 2. The winners of qualifier 1 and 2, lock horns in the final.

In the mid-stage of IPL 2024, the current top four teams - Rajasthan, Kolkata, Chennai and Hyderabad - in the points table standings appear to be the favourites to qualify for the playoffs, however, teams like Gujarat and Lucknow are also strong contenders to break into the top four as the league stage of the tournament moves to the business end.

Step into the dynamic world of the 10 teams playing in IPL 2024, only on Crickit! Dive into in-depth team profiles, player stats and match highlights tailored for every cricket fan. With Crickit, experience the thrill of the IPL season like never before, with comprehensive coverage and exclusive insights at your fingertips.

...read more

IPL 2024 Teams and Squads

[ipl news]

'Reservation for RCB players too?': Internet in splits amid controversial Bill

Published on Jul 18, 2024 10:48 AM IST

Many users questioned if Royal Challengers Bengaluru (RCB) too will have 50-75% of Kannadigas in the team, going by the new Bill.

'Reservation for RCB players too?': Internet in splits amid controversial Bill in Karnataka(ANI )

‘Some are close, some…’: Naveen on Kohli fight after Mishra's ‘respect’ claim

Naveen-ul-Haq addressed his fight with Virat Kohli during the 2023 edition of the Indian Premier League.

Virat Kohli and Naveen ul Haq during India and Afghanistan encounter in ICC World Cup.(Twitter)
Updated on Jul 17, 2024 07:29 PM IST

DC reject Ganguly as head coach after sacking Ponting, want someone like Gambhir

Delhi Capitals does not want Sourav Ganguly as their next head coach after sacking Ricky Ponting. They are keen on someone like Gautam Gambhir.

Delhi Capitals does not want Sourav Ganguly as their next head coach after sacking Ricky Ponting(PTI)
Updated on Jul 16, 2024 11:23 AM IST

Ganguly throws Ponting under the bus after DC exit: 'Boycott was right'

Sourav Ganguly has said that Delhi Capitals haven't been able to move forward under Ricky Ponting.

Delhi Capitals's Director of Cricket and mentor Sourav Ganguly (L) with former head coach Ricky Ponting.(AFP)
Updated on Jul 15, 2024 02:24 PM IST

Ponting parts ways with DC, franchise pens emotional farewell note

Delhi Capitals have confirmed the departure of Ricky Ponting after seven years at the club.

Ricky Ponting during his time at Delhi Capitals(Delhi Capitals-Twitter)
Updated on Jul 14, 2024 07:20 AM IST

Starc says IPL final ceremony killed KKR vibe, Angkrish saw 20 cr. cheque and...

Mitchell Starc wasn't impressed with the IPL 2024 final presentation ceremony.

Mitchell Starc picked up 17 wickets for KKR in IPL 2024(Getty)
Updated on Jul 12, 2024 08:25 PM IST

'Was shocked, he didn't see me...': Nitish shares heartwarming story on Cummins

Nitish Kumar Reddy flourished under Pat Cummins at SRH and he gave a glimpse into how meticulous the Australia pace superstar is.

Nitish Kuimar Reddy took three wickets in addition to scoring 303 runs at a strike rate of 142.92(Nitish Kumar Reddy Instagram)
Updated on Jul 12, 2024 02:17 PM IST

‘IPL helped our average Test players get rich…’: Boycott's fiery rant at England

Geoffrey Boycott took on the English Test team as it hopes to bounce back after a poor defeat in India, beginning the new season with the series against Windies

England's Ben Stokes walks back to the pavilion after losing his wicket, bowled out by West Indies' Gudakesh Motie(Action Images via Reuters)
Published on Jul 11, 2024 07:57 PM IST

Happy Birthday Sourav Ganguly: Dada's best on-field moments as he turns 52

Sourav Ganguly celebrates his 52nd birthday today. Here's taking a walk down memory lane when it comes to Dada's most memorable moments in the public eye

Sourav Ganguly turns 52: A look back at his most iconic on-field moments
Published on Jul 08, 2024 06:50 PM IST
ByAalokitaa Basu

Pat Cummins bats for separate windows for IPL and Test cricket

Pat Cummins called for a window for Test cricket so that players don't have to choose between the longest format and franchise cricket.

Australian bowler Pat Cummins (L) acknowledges the applause after taking five wickets on the fourth day of the second cricket Test vs Pakistan(AFP)
Published on Jul 08, 2024 03:11 PM IST
Story Saved
Live Score
Saved Articles
My Reads
Sign out
New Delhi 0C
Friday, July 19, 2024
Start 14 Days Free Trial Subscribe Now
Follow Us On