Suryakumar Yadav to lead India in Australia series, Shreyas Iyer will join squad as vice-captain for last 2 T20Is

By, New Delhi
Nov 21, 2023 06:22 AM IST

Suryakumar Yadav has been named India's captain for the entire T20I series against Australia. Shreyas Iyer will later join the squad as vice-captain.

After an impressive campaign in the 2023 edition of the ICC World Cup, the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) has announced India's squad for the upcoming T20I series against Australia on Monday. The five-match T20I series against Australia is scheduled to start on 23rd November in Visakhapatnam. Premier batter Suryakumar Yadav has been named India's captain for the entire T20I series against the Men from Down Under.

India's Suryakumar Yadav walks off the ground after being dismissed (PTI)
India's Suryakumar Yadav walks off the ground after being dismissed (PTI)

Rohit's white-ball deputy, all-rounder Hardik Pandya picked up an ankle injury in the round-robin phase of the ICC World Cup 2023. After missing the business end of the World Cup 2023, Pandya is reportedly advised six to eight weeks of rest by the medical team. With Pandya not fit to feature for the Australia series, middle-order batter Suryakumar was named India's T20I captain.

Stay tuned with breaking news on HT Channel on Facebook. Join Now

Shreyas Iyer will join squad as vice-captain

While star batter Suryakumar is leading the side in the absence of Rohit and Hardik, Shreyas Iyer will join the squad as vice-captain for the last two T20Is in Raipur and Bengaluru. Since Iyer is rested for the matches in Raipur and Bengaluru, opener Ruturaj Gaikwad is appointed as Suryakumar's deputy for the first three T20Is of the bilateral series.

ALSO READ: Kapil Dev's crucial message for Rohit Sharma after ‘teary-eyed’ video of IND captain breaks internet: 'It's tough but…'

Axar Patel returns

Hosts India have retained most of its players who featured in the Ireland T20I series. However, India have opted to rest pace ace Jasprit Bumrah following the conclusion of the 50-over World Cup. A fit-again Bumrah captained the second-string Indian side in the Ireland series earlier this year. All-rounder Axar Patel has returned to the white-ball setup after missing the ICC World Cup 2023 due to an injury.

No place for Sanju Samson

Axar's exit from the World Cup squad paved the way for senior all-rounder Ravichandran Ashwin to feature in the One Day International (ODI) roster for the ICC event. India have picked Ishan Kishan and Jitesh Sharma as its two wicketkeeper-batter options while superstar Sanju Samson was overlooked by the think tank for the Australia T20Is. The BCCI has also confirmed Visakhapatnam, Thiruvananthapuram, Guwahati, Raipur and Bengaluru as the venues for the T20I series between Australia and hosts India.

India’s T20I squad for Australia series: Suryakumar Yadav (Captain), Ruturaj Gaikwad (vice-captain), Ishan Kishan, Yashasvi Jaiswal, Tilak Varma, Rinku Singh, Jitesh Sharma (wk), Washington Sundar, Axar Patel, Shivam Dubey, Ravi Bishnoi, Arshdeep Singh, Prasidh Krishna, Avesh Khan, Mukesh Kumar.

Exciting News! Hindustan Times now has a Facebook channel for Cricket. For all the latest cricket buzz and stories - Join the Channel Now!
Catch all the Latest Cricket News, Live Cricket Score and India vs Australia match updates along with Cricket Schedule and India vs Australia Live Score other related updates on Hindustan Times Website and APPs

    At HT Sports Desk, passionate reporters work round the clock to provide detailed updates from the world of sports. Expect nuanced match reports, previews,reviews, technical analysis based on statistics, the latest social media trends, expert opinions on cricket, football, tennis, badminton, hockey,motorsports, wrestling, boxing, shooting, athletics and much more.

Story Saved
Live Score
Saved Articles
My Reads
Sign out
New Delhi 0C
Saturday, December 02, 2023
Start 14 Days Free Trial Subscribe Now
Register Free and get Exciting Deals