Watch: Wicketkeeper gets TV umpire to rectify decision after ‘embarrassing’ brain fade moment in BBL

Feb 02, 2023 08:08 PM IST

What caught most eyes was an embarrassing brain fade moment involving the third umpire, which created a brief moment of confusion in the proceedings.

Brisbane Heat engaged in an epic low-scoring thriller against Sydney Sixers on Thursday, as the former won the encounter by four wickets to book a finale date with Perth Scorchers in the ongoing edition of the Big Bash League. With just 117 required to win, Sixers almost pulled a stunning win as they reduced Heat to 56/5 at the midway stage.

Josh Philippe was caught behind for 16(Screengrab)
Josh Philippe was caught behind for 16(Screengrab)

However, Michael Nesser anchored the Heat run chase as the team eventually recovered from the early blows and wrapped up the proceedings in 18.2 overs. Nesser returned unbeaten on 48 off 32 balls, which featured seven boundaries.

Also Read | 'Beta jab tu U19 khel raha tha na, tera baap Test player tha': PAK pacer's controversial comments on Kohli wreaks havoc

However, what caught most eyes was an embarassing brain fade moment involving the third umpire, which created a brief moment of confusion in the proceedings.

The incident took place during the Sixers innings as Josh Philippe was facing Matt Kuknemann. Facing the first delivery of the seventh over, Philippe attempted a sweep, but failed to get any connection and the ball was collected by the wicketkeeper.

Soon after the course of action, Jimmy Peirson, the Heat wicketkeeper, burst into a loud caught-behind appeal but the on-field umpire adjudged it not out.

The Heat, however, opted for a review and after examining the replays it became evident that the ball had brushed Philippe's gloves on its way to the wicketkeeper. Despite the spike on the Snickometer as the ball passed close to the gloves, the third-umpire asked the on-field official to stay with their decision.

Watch: Moeen Ali attempts bizarre single-handed reverse-hit in SA vs ENG 3rd ODI; Neesham's reaction is absolute gold

However, unhappy with the call, Pierson held on to the ball forcing the umpire to consult the third umpire again. Realising his mistake, the third umpire then corrected his decision as Philippe was caught behind for 16 in the same number of balls.

The on-air commentators were equally shocked with the turn of event, with one commenting: “Baffled by this”.

Here is the video:

Following the victory, Heat will now lock horns with Scorchers in the summit clash, which is scheduled to be played at the Perth Stadium on Saturday.

Catch all the Latest Cricket News and Live score along with IPL 2023 and IPL schedule related updates on Hindustan Times

    At HT Sports Desk, passionate reporters work round the clock to provide detailed updates from the world of sports. Expect nuanced match reports, previews,reviews, technical analysis based on statistics, the latest social media trends, expert opinions on cricket, football, tennis, badminton, hockey,motorsports, wrestling, boxing, shooting, athletics and much more.

Story Saved
Saved Articles
My Reads
My Offers
Sign out
New Delhi 0C
Wednesday, March 29, 2023
Start 15 Days Free Trial Subscribe Now
Register Free and get Exciting Deals