Himachal Pradesh Election 2022 Constituencies: Get the list of assembly constituencies of Himachal Pradesh | Hindustan Times

Himachal Pradesh Assembly Election 2022 Constituency List


The 2022 Himachal Pradesh assembly election is one of two remaining state polls for the year (the other is the Gujarat assembly election) and are seen as crucial for the Bharatiya Janata Party and the Congress in the build-up to the 2024 Lok Sabha election, as well as for smaller parties like Arvind Kejriwal's Aam Aadmi Party, Mamata Banerjee's Trinamool Congress and K Chandrashekhar Rao's Telangana Rashtra Samiti, all of which are hoping to make a mark in national-level politics. Himachal Pradesh has 68 assembly constituencies. see more

In the 2017 Himachal Pradesh election, the BJP won 44 seats. The Congress won just 21 - down 15 from the 2012 election. The BJP improved its tally by 18.

Polling for all of the 68 seats in the Himachal Pradesh assembly happened in one phase on November 12 with results expected on December 8.

Chief minister Jai Ram Thakur of the BJP will be contesting from his Seraj seat. Rakesh Pathania, Suresh Bhardwaj, Virender Kanwar and Govind Singh Thakur are some of the other big names from the ruling BJP bidding to become MLAs. For the Congress, Sukhwinder Singh Sukku and Asha Kumari are some of the big names. The AAP will be hoping to repeat its surprise win in Punjab earlier this year - where it beat the Congress and established its first ever government outside Delhi - with a win in the hill state. Manish Thakur and Rajan Shushant are some of the big names contesting from Kejriwal's party.

All Constituencies (68)

Story Saved
Live Score
Saved Articles
My Reads
Sign out
New Delhi 0C
Tuesday, June 18, 2024
Start 14 Days Free Trial Subscribe Now
Follow Us On