Hindustan Times
News > Elections > Lok Sabha >Lok Sabha Candidates

Lok Sabha Candidates

Get to know the important candidates who are contesting the Lok Sabha elections

Key candidates

  • Narendra Modi
    Narendra Modi
  • Amit Shah
    Amit Shah
  • Rahul Gandhi
    Rahul Gandhi
  • Smriti Irani
    Smriti Irani
  • Anupriya Singh Patel
    Anupriya Singh Patel
  • Farooq Abdullah
    Farooq Abdullah
  • Mehbooba Mufti
    Mehbooba Mufti
  • Dr. Shashi Tharoor
    Dr. Shashi Tharoor
  • Bhupinder Singh Hooda
    Bhupinder Singh Hooda
  • Anurag Singh Thakur
    Anurag Singh Thakur
  • Gaurav Gogoi
    Gaurav Gogoi
  • Agatha K. Sangma
    Agatha K. Sangma
  • G . Kishan Reddy
    G . Kishan Reddy
  • Asaduddin Owaisi
    Asaduddin Owaisi
  • Arjun Munda
    Arjun Munda
  • Supriya Sule
    Supriya Sule
  • Arjun Ram Meghwal
    Arjun Ram Meghwal
  • Abhishek Banerjee
    Abhishek Banerjee
  • Kanimozhi Karunanidhi
    Kanimozhi Karunanidhi
  • Adhir Ranjan Chowdhury
    Adhir Ranjan Chowdhury

Election Lok Sabha Candidate FAQs

Everything you need to know about the product.

Voting starts at 7 am and ends at 6 pm, but anyone in line before closing time can still vote. Closing times may vary by polling centre in different Lok sabha election constituencies.
If you were previously registered in elections but can't find your name now, you can still apply to become a voter. The Election Commission of India updates the electoral roll until the last nomination date for each phase.
To find their polling booth in the 2024 Lok Sabha elections, voters can visit https://electoralsearch.eci.gov.in or use the Voter Helpline App. They can also call 1950 (add your STD code before dialling) for assistance or send a message with "SPACE" to 1950.
To vote, ensure your name is on the voter list for the Lok Sabha elections 2024. Check via: Website: https://electoralsearch.eci.gov.in Call: 1950 (add your STD code) App: Voter Helpline App
NOTA, short for "none of the above," appears at the bottom of Electronic Voting Machines (EVMs). Pressing it indicates the voter's rejection of all election candidates. Unlike a negative vote, NOTA is neutral, has no numerical value, and doesn't contribute to the final total.
Exit Polls are surveys conducted with voters exiting polling stations after voting. The Election Commission of India has prohibited publication of exit polls from 7 am on April 19 to 6:30 pm on June 1.
A citizen of India who hasn't acquired citizenship elsewhere and is not disqualified by law is eligible to be registered as a voter, provided he is above 18 years old. Voters aged 85 and above, as well as Persons with Disabilities with a 40 per cent benchmark disability, can avail home voting facility.
If NOTA receives the most votes in a constituency, the candidate with the second-highest number of votes is declared the winner. The Supreme Court recently asked the ECI to respond to a petition calling for new elections in constituencies where NOTA receives the highest number of votes.
Electronic Voting Machine (EVM) is a portable electronic device for recording votes in elections. The voter casts his vote by pressing the blue button on the Balloting Unit against the candidate and symbol of his choice.
The VVPAT is housed in a transparent glass case, enabling voters to view their vote. After displaying the voter slip to the voter for about seven seconds, it is deposited into a storage box, confirmed by a beep. Voters cannot access the VVPAT.

The 2024 Lok Sabha elections were the biggest democratic exercise in history, with nearly 97 crore people eligible to participate as voters. In the seven-phase exercise, polling was held on April 19 and 26; May 7, 13, 20, and 25, and June 1, with counting of votes on June 4.

While Prime Minister Narendra Modi, who is seeking a hattrick of terms in the top post, is contesting from Varanasi, which he won in both the 2014 and 2019 national polls – Varanasi votes in the seventh leg – Rahul Gandhi contested from Wayanad and Rae Bareli. The former Congress chief, the sitting MP from Wayanad in the outgoing Lok Sabha, replaced his mother Sonia Gandhi in Rae Bareli, which she vacated due to poor health and shifted to Rajya Sabha in February. In Amethi, another Uttar Pradesh constituency synonymous with the Congress party’s first family, Union minister Smriti Irani was in the fray again, five years after defeating Rahul Gandhi, the seat’s then MP. However, Priyanka Gandhi Vadra, who was expected to make her poll debut from either Amethi or Rae Bareli, did not contest.

Union home minister Amit Shah, the Lok Sabha representative of Gandhinagar, stood from here again, while three-time Baramati representative Supriya Sule was up against her sister-in-law, Sunetra Pawar.

If the ruling BJP wins the current elections, it will be in office for a third consecutive term. The saffron party is also targeting a third straight single-party majority.

....Read More