Hindustan Times
News > Elections > Lok Sabha >Lok Sabha States

Lok Sabha States

See the collection of 28 states and 8 Union territories of our Country

Election Lok Sabha State FAQs

Everything you need to know about the product.

Voting starts at 7 am and ends at 6 pm, but anyone in line before closing time can still vote. Closing times may vary by polling centre in different Lok sabha election constituencies.
If you were previously registered in elections but can't find your name now, you can still apply to become a voter. The Election Commission of India updates the electoral roll until the last nomination date for each phase.
To find their polling booth in the 2024 Lok Sabha elections, voters can visit https://electoralsearch.eci.gov.in or use the Voter Helpline App. They can also call 1950 (add your STD code before dialling) for assistance or send a message with "SPACE" to 1950.
To vote, ensure your name is on the voter list for the Lok Sabha elections 2024. Check via: Website: https://electoralsearch.eci.gov.in Call: 1950 (add your STD code) App: Voter Helpline App
What does NOTA stand for? NOTA, short for "none of the above," appears at the bottom of Electronic Voting Machines (EVMs). Pressing it indicates the voter's rejection of all election candidates. Unlike a negative vote, NOTA is neutral, has no numerical value, and doesn't contribute to the final total.
Exit Polls are surveys conducted with voters exiting polling stations after voting. The Election Commission of India has prohibited publication of exit polls from 7 am on April 19 to 6:30 pm on June 1.
A citizen of India who hasn't acquired citizenship elsewhere and is not disqualified by law is eligible to be registered as a voter, provided he is above 18 years old. Voters aged 85 and above, as well as Persons with Disabilities with a 40 per cent benchmark disability, can avail home voting facility.
If NOTA receives the most votes in a constituency, the candidate with the second-highest number of votes is declared the winner. The Supreme Court recently asked the ECI to respond to a petition calling for new elections in constituencies where NOTA receives the highest number of votes.
Electronic Voting Machine (EVM) is a portable electronic device for recording votes in elections. The voter casts his vote by pressing the blue button on the Balloting Unit against the candidate and symbol of his choice.
The VVPAT is housed in a transparent glass case, enabling voters to view their vote. After displaying the voter slip to the voter for about seven seconds, it is deposited into a storage box, confirmed by a beep. Voters cannot access the VVPAT.

The 2024 Lok Sabha elections, the largest democratic exercise in history with 96.88 crore Indians eligible to vote, are underway, with polling for two out of seven phases already done (April 19 and 26). Voting will also be held on May 7, 13, 20, 25, and June 1. The counting of votes for all 543 Lok Sabha seats, will take place on June 4, three days after the seventh and final phase.

Which are the key states?

Uttar Pradesh: The country's most populous state sends as many as 80 members to the Lok Sabha, the highest representation for any state or Union territory in the Lower House of Parliament. Nine out of 14 Prime Ministers, including the incumbent, Narendra Modi, served as Lok Sabha MPs from UP during their premiership.

Maharashtra: With 48 MP seats, Maharashtra has the second-highest representation in the Lok Sabha.

West Bengal: As many as 42 Lok Sabha representatives are elected from West Bengal, the highest after the two states ahead of it, Uttar Pradesh, and Maharashtra, respectively.

Bihar: The neighbouring Bihar sends 40 representatives to the Lok Sabha.

Tamil Nadu: The southern state has 39 parliamentary constituencies.

Madhya Pradesh: From the central state, 29 MPs go to the Lower House

Karnataka: With 28 Lok Sabha seats, Karnataka is a key state.

Gujarat: The home state of Prime Minister Narendra Modi and Home Minister Amit Shah has been a bastion of their BJP since many years. The BJP holds all 26 constituencies in the state.

Andhra Pradesh: Set to hold simultaneous national and assembly polls, Andhra Pradesh is represented by 25 members in the Lok Sabha.

Rajasthan: The desert state, too, has 25 seats in the Lok Sabha.

Kerala: The coastal state in south India accounts for 20 parliamentary constituencies.

In the 2019 general elections, the BJP and its allies swept most of the northern states (Hindi heartland), with the ruling party ending with a tally of 303 seats, up from 282 in 2014. The party also swept Maharashtra, and registered its best-ever performance in West Bengal, where 18 BJP candidates were victorious for the first time. The BJP and allies dominated the northeast too, with Karnataka, however, being the only southern state where they did well.

This time, the opposition has come together as the INDIA bloc. The Congress-led alliance hopes to hurt the BJP by fielding a single alliance candidate on as many seats as possible, thus preventing the anti-BJP votes from getting divided. The Indian National Developmental Inclusive Alliance was formed in July 2023, and its slogan is 'Judega Bharat, Jeetega INDIA.' However, in several states, for example, West Bengal, Punjab, and Kerala, the INDIA allies will be up against each other.

In West Bengal, Trinamool is the frontrunner, and its principal challenger is the BJP, followed by the Congress-Left. In Punjab, the AAP and Congress are the primary contestants despite announcing alliance in Chandigarh, Delhi, Goa, Gujarat, and Haryana. Kerala will see the Left Democratic Front (LDF) pitted against the Congress and its United Democratic Front (UDF).

....Read More