Manipur Assembly Election 2022 Schedule: Check Manipur Election schedule along with voting dates and result | Hindustan Times

Manipur assembly election 2022 schedule


Schedule for General Election to the Legislative Assembly of Manipur

Manipur assembly elections 2022 were held in two phases, on February 28 and March 5. The BJP is ruling in the northeastern state with its regional allies. The Congress, which was the single-largest party in the 2017 polls, will make an attempt at returning to power. see more

The Armed Forces (Special Powers) Act, or AFSPA, which gives sweeping powers to military personnel in "disturbed regions", has come under greater scrutiny recently and the Congress has promised "the immediate and complete removal of AFSPA" from Manipur if it is elected to power.

The party, however, had been dealing with infighting in Manipur too. Among the 30 star campaigners of the Congress are Gandhis - Sonia Gandhi, Rahul Gandhi and Priyanka Gandhi Vadra - Salman Khurshid and new Kanhaiya Kumar.

For the BJP, which had allied with Naga People's Front (NPF) National People’s Party (NPP), the Lok Janshakti Party (LJP) to form a government, Prime Minister Narendra Modi, Amit Shah, JP Nadda, Rajnath Singh and other top leaders are among the top campaigners.

While there have been calls for leadership change there have been indications that chief minister Biren Singh will continue to be the ruling party’s face.

Manipur assembly election results will be announced on March 10.

Poll Events Phase-V Phase-VI
No. of Constituencies (All 38 ACs) (All 22 ACs)
Date of Issue of Notification 01-02-2022 (Tuesday) 04-02-2022 (Friday)
Last date of making nomination 09-02-2022 (Tuesday) 11-02-2022 (Friday)
Date of Scrutiny 09-02-2022 (Wednesday) 14-02-2022 (Monday)
Last date of withdrawal 11-02-2022 (Friday) 16-02-2022 (Wednesday)
Date of Poll 28-02-2022 (Monday) 05-03-2022 (Saturday)
Date of Counting 10-03-2022 (Thursday) 10-03-2022 (Thursday)
Date of completion 12-03-2022 (Saturday) 12-03-2022 (Saturday)

[Manipur Election 2022]

Who is Ritu Khanduri? The first woman speaker of Uttarakhand assembly

Updated on Mar 26, 2022 04:36 PM IST

Daughter of former chief minister of Uttarakhand Major General (Retd) Bhuwan Chandra Khanduri, Ritu Khanduri won the 2022 assembly elections by defeating Congress' Surendra Singh Negi from the Kotdwar seat by a margin of 3,687 votes.

BJP's Ritu Khanduri is the first woman speaker of Uttarakhand assembly. (Twitter/Ritu Khanduri Bhushan)
Written by Sharangee Dutta | Edited by Poulomi Ghosh, New Delhi

UP: Brajesh Pathak sworn in as deputy CM, replaces Dinesh Sharma. Know about him

Known as a prominent Brahmin leader, Brajesh Pathak joined the BJP in 2017 after quitting Mayawati-led Bahujan Samaj Party. He won from Lucknow Cantt seat in both 2017 and 2022 Uttar Pradesh assembly elections.

Brajesh Pathak takes oath as the deputy chief minister in Uttar Pradesh government on Friday, March 25, 2022. (ANI Photo)
Updated on Mar 25, 2022 06:09 PM IST
By | Written by Sharangee Dutta, New Delhi

Yogi's new UP cabinet has 50 ministers with 31 fresh faces: Full list here

Yogi Adityanath swearing-in: Keshav Prasad Maurya and Brijesh Pathak were sworn in as the UP CM's deputies.

Prime Minister Narendra Modi with UP chief minister Yogi Adityanath and governor Anandiben Patel during the swearing-in ceremony in Lucknow.(ANI)
Updated on Mar 25, 2022 05:41 PM IST
By, New Delhi

N Biren Singh takes oath as Manipur CM, lists out his three priorities

Singh took the oath in the presence of BJP's national president JP Nadda, BJP’s Manipur unit president Adhikarimayum Sharda Devi, Tripura chief minister Biplab Kumar Deb and other party leaders.

N Biren Singh was unanimously elected as leader of the legislature party of the BJP during a meeting held on Sunday.(ANI Photo)
Updated on Mar 21, 2022 03:47 PM IST
Written by Harshit Sabarwal | Edited by Sohini Goswami, New Delhi

BJP’s Rajen Singh sworn in as protem speaker of 12th Manipur Assembly

Protem speaker Rajen Singh’ swearing-in ceremony at the Raj Bhawan in Imphal was attended by caretaker chief minister N Biren Singh and others.

Governor La Ganesan administered the oath of office and secrecy to Rajen Singh
Updated on Mar 13, 2022 03:58 PM IST
BySobhapati Samom

Janata Dal (United) to support BJP in Manipur

The JD (U)’s move came a day after Chief Minister N Biren Singh tendered his resignation from the CM’s post. He will continue as caretaker Chief Minister till an arrangement is made.

Bihar Chief Minister Nitish Kumar and others in a group photo with newly-elected JDU MLAs from Manipur, in Patna on Friday. (ANI PHOTO.)
Updated on Mar 13, 2022 12:15 AM IST
BySobhapati Samom

Five women elected to 60-member Manipur assembly. It is a first

Manipur election: 17 women out of the total of 265 candidates, were in the fray across Manipur’s 60 assembly constituencies.

BJP Manipur president A Sharda Devi with the three successful women candidates, Nemcha Kipgen from Kangpokpi seat, SS Olish from Chandel and Soraisam Kebi from Naoriya Pakhanglakpa. (Twitter/@AShardaDevi)
Published on Mar 12, 2022 01:34 AM IST
BySobhapati Samom

UP loss highlights the limits of Akhilesh Yadav’s strategy

When Akhilesh Yadav kicked off his Samajwadi Vijay Yatra from Ghazipur, his party had a mountain to climb with only months to go for the 2022 assembly elections in Uttar Pradesh

The Samajwadi Party (SP) office in Lucknow after the party’s loss in the UP assembly election) (HT Photo)
Updated on Mar 11, 2022 10:42 PM IST
By, Lucknow

'Congratulations friend': Kamal Haasan on Kejriwal and AAP's big win in Punjab

“It is commendable that within ten years since its inception, the party has reigned victorious in another state, Punjab,” Kamal Hasaan wrote.

Indian cinema actor and founder of 'Makkal Needhi Mayyam' party Kamal Haasan.(AFP)
Updated on Mar 11, 2022 06:20 PM IST
Written by Shubhangi Gupta | Edited by Chandrashekar Srinivasan, New Delhi

Manipur performance brings JD (U) closer to national party status

The party hopes to achieve it in 2023 as it needs just 6% votes or three assembly seats in one more state

Bihar chief minister Nitish Kumar congratulated the winners and workers and hoped they will serve Manipur’s people. (HT PHOTO)
Published on Mar 11, 2022 11:07 AM IST
Story Saved
Live Score
Saved Articles
My Reads
Sign out
New Delhi 0C
Sunday, February 25, 2024
Start 14 Days Free Trial Subscribe Now
Follow Us On