Mizoram Election 2023 Constituencies Result Live: Check the latest counting updates of constituencies in Mizoram Elections | Hindustan Times

Mizoram Election 2023 Constituency List

Mizoram Assembly Election 2023 was held on November 7 and the results are to be announced on December 4. Manipur Assembly has 40 seats. The tenure of the current Mizoram assembly expires on December 17 this year. Mizoram came into existence as a state on February 20, 1987. Mizo National Front under Chief Minister Zoramthanga is in power in the state. MNF leader and Mizoram chief minister Zoramthanga is one of the most prominent faces in the assembly election this year. He is contesting from the Aizawl East-I seat and is up against Congress candidate Lalsanglura Ralte ZPM's Lalthansanga - who is the party's vice-president. In 2018, Zoramthanga secured 42.9 percent votes defeating independent candidate K Sapdanga who got 30 percent votes, and Congress' K Vanlalrawna who managed to get 24.5 percent votes.

Another key candidate in the Mizoram polls is the state Congress chief Lalsawta contesting from Aizawl West-III against ZPM candidate VL Zaithanzama and MNF candidate K Sawmvela. Lalsawta - who has been the finance minister of Mizoram till 2018 - won the state elections in 2008 and 2013 from Aizawl East-II. However, he lost the seat to MNF's Robert Romawia Royte in 2018. While MNF won the seat with 41.4 percent votes, Lalsawta remained restricted to only 26.9 percent votes.

ZPM founder Lalduhoma is contesting from the Serchhip constituency against Congress' R Vanlaltluanga and MNF's debutant candidate J Malsawmzual Vanchhawng. In 2018, Lalduhoma won from the Aizawl West-1 but he chose to represent Serchhip. He is a former IPS officer who was also part of the security of former Prime Minister Indira Gandhi.

BJP state unit president Vanlalhmuaka is contesting from the Dampa constituency - a key seat for the saffron party as this was the only seat that it was able to bag in 2018. Vanlalhmuaka is contesting against Mizo National Front's (MNF) Lalrintluanga Sailoand ZPM's Vanlalsailova. ...read more

All Constituencies

Mizoram Election Constituency FAQs

  • What was the result of Mizoram Assembly Election 2018?

    In the 2018 elections, MNF won 26 out of 40 seats, Congress bagged five and the Bharatiya Janata Party won just one seat. The MNF returned to power after 10 years, ousting the Congress.

  • How many seats are there in the Mizoram Assembly?

    There are 40 seats in the Mizoram legislative assembly.

  • What is the term of the Mizoram assembly?

    The term of the Mizoram assembly is five years.

  • Who announces the dates for assembly elections?

    The Election Commission announces the schedule of assembly elections. It includes the dates for filing nominations, scrutiny of nominations, withdrawal of nominations, voting date and the counting of votes.

  • Who is eligible to vote in the assembly election?

    A voter whose name is included in the election commission's electoral rolls is eligible to cast a vote.

Story Saved
Live Score
Saved Articles
My Reads
Sign out
New Delhi 0C
Monday, June 17, 2024
Start 14 Days Free Trial Subscribe Now
Follow Us On