Amritsar East, Punjab Assembly Election 2022 – Get Amritsar East constituency news updates and complete details | Hindustan Times

Punjab Election 2022: Amritsar East Assembly Seat

Amritsar East Punjab Assembly Election 2022
Results Awaited
Trailing/Runner up
Results Awaited

Punjab Election: Amritsar East Assembly Constituency 2022

Amritsar East is one of the 117 Punjab Legislative Assembly Constituencies that comes under the Amritsar district. Punjab Assembly Election 2022 for Amritsar East was held on February 20 and the result was declared on March 10.

In Punjab Assembly Election 2017, there were 1,53,629 registered voters for Amritsar East assembly seat, out of which 81,975 were male and 71,654 were female voters. 0.3% of voters opted for for the None of the Above (NOTA) option.

What happened last time

In the Punjab Legislative Assembly Election 2017, Amritsar East constituency had 15 candidates for assembly seat contention. Total 77 seats were won by the Indian National Congress, Amritsar East was one of them. The election for Amritsar East seat was comfortably won by Indian National Congress's Navjot Singh Sidhu defeating Bharatiya Janata Party's Rajesh Kumar Honey by a huge margin of 42,809 votes.

93.7% of the total votes were casted to top three candidates. Indian National Congress's Navjot Singh Sidhu grabbed a total of 60,477 votes, while Bharatiya Janata Party's Rajesh Kumar Honey got 17,668 votes. Aam Aadmi Party's candidate Sarabjot Singh Dhanjal bagged 14,715 votes to finish at the third place. The top three parties registered 61.0%, 17.8% and 14.8% respectively.

In Punjab Assembly election 2012, Bharatiya Janata Party's Navjot Sidhu outperformed independent candidate Simarpreet Kaur by 7,099 votes.


Punjab Election 2022


Rahul Gandhi takes 'Modi wale parmatma' jibe at PM over 'sent by god' remark

Published on May 28, 2024 04:13 PM IST

Addressing a rally in UP's Deoria, Rahul Gandhi claimed Modi's God had sent him to help Adani, Ambani.

Congress leader Rahul Gandhi addressing a public meeting in Patna on Monday. (Hindustan Times)

BJP will do anything to grab power: Priyanka Gandhi in Himachal

Congress leader Priyanka Gandhi says PM Narendra Modi disrespected voters by ‘trying to topple’ democratically elected government

Congress’ Kangra candidate Anand Sharma (extreme left), general secretary Priyanka Gandhi (centre) and senior leader Asha Kumari (extreme right) at a campaign rally in Chamba, Himachal. (HT Photo)
Updated on May 28, 2024 01:01 AM IST
By, Dharamshala

Lok Sabha election Updates: Congress won't even cross 40 seats, says Amit Shah

Lok Sabha election Updates: Six phases of polling have been completed, with the final phase set for June 1. The votes will be counted on June 4.

live Union home minister Amit Shah. (Santosh Kumar/ HT Photo)(HT_PRINT)
Updated on May 27, 2024 10:54 PM IST

Lok Sabha Elections Highlights: TMC says Modi govt's tenure 'nearing its end’

Lok Sabha Elections 2024 Highlights: The next and final phase of voting is scheduled for June 1 in 57 parliamentary constituencies across 8 states and UTs.

live TMC General Secretary Abhishek Banerjee
Updated on May 26, 2024 10:41 PM IST

Lok Sabha election phase 6: Bihar records 52.24% voter turnout till 5pm

Voting began in the eight Lok Sabha constituencies in Bihar at 7 am and will continue till 6 pm.

Voters show their identity cards as they wait in a queue at a polling station to cast their votes during the sixth phase of the Lok Sabha elections, in Vaishali district, Saturday.(PTI)
Published on May 25, 2024 02:16 PM IST

Delhi Lok Sabha Election 2024: 56.88% voter turnout recorded in phase 6

Election officials said there have been no reports of technical glitches or delays in the start of voting at any polling station.

Delhi Lok Sabha polls: Mira Devi, 85, and children voting for the first time were honoured with flower garlands by the RWA in sectors 3, 5, and 6 in New Delhi on Saturday.(HT Photo)
Updated on May 25, 2024 10:41 PM IST

Lok Sabha Election Highlights: At 59.06%, phase 6 records lowest voter turnout

Lok Sabha Election 2024 Phase 6 Highlights: Voting concluded on 58 constituencies across six states and two Union Territories for Phase 6.

live Voters queue up to cast their ballots at a polling station during the sixth phase of voting (AFP)
Updated on May 25, 2024 10:53 PM IST

Lok Sabha elections phase 6: Banks will be closed on May 25 in these cities

The sixth phase of the Lok Sabha election 2024 will be held on May 25.

In the wake of sixth phase of the Lok Sabha election 2024 on May 25, banks will be closed in several regions.(File photo)
Published on May 24, 2024 07:53 PM IST

Bihar Lok Sabha Elections: 1.5 crore voters to cast vote in 8 constituencies

The areas voting in Bihar in the sixth phase are Valmiki Nagar, West Champaran, East Champaran, Sheohar, Siwan, Gopalganj, Maharajganj, and Vaishali.

Out of the 1.49 crore voters casting their votes on Friday, 71.08 lakh are women. (Bloomberg/File)
Published on May 24, 2024 06:05 PM IST

Delhi Lok Sabha Election Phase 6: How to find polling booth, name on voter list

Delhi Lok Sabha Election 2024 phase 6: All seven seats will vote in the capital. Here are steps to find your polling booth and verify name on voter list online.

Delhi Lok Sabha Election 2024 phase 6: A voter's finger is marked with indelible ink after casting a ballot at a polling station.(Dhiraj Singh/Bloomberg)
Published on May 24, 2024 04:00 PM IST
Story Saved
Live Score
Saved Articles
My Reads
Sign out
New Delhi 0C
Tuesday, May 28, 2024
Start 14 Days Free Trial Subscribe Now
Follow Us On