Punjab Assembly Election 2022 Constituency List: Check detailed list of Punjab constituencies and seats | Hindustan Times



Punjab, also known as the food bowl of India, witnessed a multi-cornered contest for its 117 seats. The elections were held in a single phase on February 20. The high-stakes electoral battle in Punjab, a predominantly agrarian state, was fought months after the Centre withdrew three farm laws that had triggered protests lasting for more than a year.Punjab has over 1.9 crore voters, one third of which belong to the Dalit community. see more

The ruling Congress witnessed an uphill task to retain one of the three fortresses in the country. After months of infighting, the Grand Old Party declared chief minister Charanjit Singh Channi as the face of the party. Channi, the state's first Dalit CM, contested from two seats-Chamkaur Sahib and Bhadaur.

Punjab Congress chief Navjot Singh Sidhu, who was instrumental in Captain Amarinder Singh's resignation as the CM, contested the polls from Amritsar East. The latter quit the Congress and floated his own party Punjab Lok Congress, contesting in alliance with the Bharatiya Janata Party and SAD-Dhindsa faction."

The Congress' main opposition Aam Aadmi Party contested elections under the leadership of its chief ministerial face Bhagwant Mann. The two-time Lok Sabha MP contested from Dhuri in Sangrur.

The counting of votes took place on March 10.

All Constituencies (117)


Punjab Election 2022


Lok Sabha Election 2024 Live: ‘BJP hatched conspiracy ahead of polls on May 25’

Updated on May 22, 2024 10:36 AM IST

Lok Sabha Election 2024 Live: Five out of seven general election phases have been concluded, and the country is bracing for Phase 6, scheduled for May 25.

Live live Lok Sabha Election 2024 Live: Delhi minister and AAP leader addressing a press conference on Wednesday.(ANI)

Lok Sabha election: Over 1000 villagers boycott Phase 5 polling in Odisha

The incident occurred in Dabjor village under Karam Tala Gram Panchayat in the Titlagarh Assembly Constituency.

Dabjor village residents highlighted the several challenges faced by villagers, including the lack of essential infrastructure such as schools, hospitals, and panchayats.(ANI)
Published on May 21, 2024 03:30 PM IST
By | Written by Lingamgunta Nirmitha Rao

‘Political decision’: Kapil Sibal slams Centre on Article 370 abrogation

In August 2019, the Centre made a historic yet to abrogate Article 370 of the Constitution, which provided J&K with a special autonomous status.

Rajya Sabha MP and senior advocate Kapil Sibal (Photo by Sanchit Khanna/ Hindustan Times)(Hindustan Times)
Updated on May 21, 2024 01:04 PM IST
By | Written by Lingamgunta Nirmitha Rao

Lok Sabha polls 2024: Shah accuses Patnaik of 'strangling' dignity of Odisha

Lok Sabha Election 2024 Updates: Five out of the seven phases of the general election have concluded so far, with the next phase scheduled for May 25.

live Union Home Minister Amit Shah during a public rally, in Sambalpur on Tuesday. (ANI Photo)(Amit Shah/X)
Updated on May 21, 2024 10:47 PM IST

Mumbai election 2024 LIVE: Amitabh Bachchan, Salman Khan cast votes

Mumbai election 2024 LIVE: Voting for Lok Sabha elections is being held in seven phases. The counting of votes will be done on June 4.

Live live Mukesh Ambani, wife Nita and son Akash cast their votes in Mumbai during the fifth phase of Lok Sabha elections.
Updated on May 20, 2024 06:59 PM IST

Lok Sabha Election 2024 Phase 5: List of documents you can use to cast vote

Lok Sabha Election 2024 Phase 5: Voters can still cast their votes even if they forget to bring their Voter ID or misplace it. Here's how.

Polling will commence at 7 am and conclude at 6 pm, with voters in queue at 6 pm being allowed to exercise their right to vote. (File) (Photo by / Hindustan Times)
Updated on May 19, 2024 10:34 PM IST

Modi vs Mamata over Ramakrishna Mission, ISKCON, Bharat Sevashram: Explained

Mamata Banerjee alleged that many monks in Bengal have been working for the BJP.

Narendra Modi slammed Mamata Banerjee for insulting Hindu organisations like ISKCON, Ramakrishna Mission, and Bharat Sevashram.
Published on May 19, 2024 07:27 PM IST

Lok Sabha Election 2024 Phase 5: What's open, what's closed today

Lok Sabha Election 2024: The Representation of People Act, 1951, mandates businesses and establishments within voting areas to grant a holiday on election day.

Lok Sabha Election 2024 Phase 5: Of the 49 Lok Sabha seats, 14 are from Uttar Pradesh, 13 from Maharashtra, 7 from West Bengal, 5 from Bihar, 3 from Jharkhand, 5 from Odisha and one each from Jammu and Kashmir and Ladakh. In the pic, polling officers from Bihar's Hajipur on the eve of Phase 5 voting.( Santosh Kumar/HT Photo)
Updated on May 20, 2024 05:30 AM IST

'Investors tell me that they won't go to Congress-ruled states,' says PM Modi

PM Narendra Modi slammed Rahul Gandhi, accusing him of being anti-business.

Prime Minister Narendra Modi (PTI)
Published on May 19, 2024 04:57 PM IST
By | Written by Adarsh Kumar Gupta

Phase 5 of Lok Sabha elections in Mumbai: What's closed? Stock markets, banks…

Phase 5 of Lok Sabha elections in Mumbai: Lok Sabha polls are being held in seven-phases. It will conclude on June 1 and vote counting is scheduled on June 4.

Phase 5 of Lok Sabha elections: The Bandra - Worli sea link is illuminated awareness of Voting ahead of Lok Sabha Election, in Mumbai, India, on Thursday, May 16, 2024. (Photo by Bhushan Koyande/HT Photo)
Updated on May 20, 2024 05:40 AM IST
Story Saved
Live Score
Saved Articles
My Reads
Sign out
New Delhi 0C
Wednesday, May 22, 2024
Start 14 Days Free Trial Subscribe Now
Follow Us On