Punjab polls: Bhagwant Mann to announce swearing-in date today

By, New Delhi
Mar 11, 2022 10:06 AM IST

Punjab assembly election 2022: The Punjab CM-elect, who left for Delhi to meet AAP national convenor Arvind Kejriwal, also said he will meet Governor Banwarilal Purohit on Saturday.

Punjab chief minister-elect Bhagwant Mann said on Friday he will announce the date of his swearing-in by evening, as he left for Delhi to meet Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) national convenor Arvind Kejriwal after the party emerged victorious in the Punjab assembly elections, the polling for which took place on February 20, followed by Thursday’s counting of votes.

Punjab CM-elect Bhagwant Mann with AAP national convenor Arvind Kejriwal after the party's win in Punjab. (Twitter)(HT_PRINT)
Punjab CM-elect Bhagwant Mann with AAP national convenor Arvind Kejriwal after the party's win in Punjab. (Twitter)(HT_PRINT)

Also Read | He's on right path: Bhagwant Mann’s mother as AAP leader takes over as Punjab CM

Stay tuned with breaking news on HT Channel on Facebook. Join Now

“I am going to meet party convenor Arvind Kejriwal, will give you the date (of swearing-in) by today evening. Will meet the governor tomorrow, followed by oath-taking in (freedom fighter) Bhagat Singh’s village Khatkar Kalan,” Mann said, according to news agency ANI.

Mann, who heads the AAP’s Punjab unit and will be the party’s first chief minister outside Delhi, defeated Congress candidate Dalvir Singh Goldy from the Dhuri assembly constituency. The parliamentarian from Sangrur won by 57,717 votes, as he secured 82,023 or 64 per cent of the total votes polled, while the corresponding figures for Goldy were 24,306 and 19 per cent, respectively, according to data uploaded on the Election Commission of India’s (ECI) website.

Also Read | AAP Punjab CM pick Bhagwant Mann on ‘personal attacks’ from rivals, his agenda

The former stand-up comic, who was announced as the Kejriwal-led party’s CM face in January, will succeed Congress’ Charanjit Singh Channi, who, however, lost to AAP candidates on both seats he contested from: Chamkaur Sahib and Bhadaur.

Also Read | Who is AAP's Bhagwant Mann, the stand-up comic who will be next Punjab CM

Overall, the AAP won 92 seats in the 117-member assembly, pushing the Congress out of power. In the previous assembly elections, in 2017, it emerged as the principal opposition party, with 20 seats.

Also Read | Tackling unemployment first task: Punjab CM-designate Bhagwant Mann

Bhagwant Mann will be Punjab’s 17th chief minister.


Story Saved
Live Score
Saved Articles
My Reads
Sign out
New Delhi 0C
Monday, December 11, 2023
Start 14 Days Free Trial Subscribe Now