Telangana Election 2023 Constituencies Result Live: Check the latest counting updates of constituencies in Telangana Elections | Hindustan Times

Telangana Election 2023 Constituency List

Telangana, the southern state carved out from Andhra Pradesh in 2014, comprises a total of 119 assembly constituencies. More than 31 million voters including 15 million women are eligible to exercise their franchise in the new state.

Several seats have grabbed a lot of headlines as they feature prominent candidates. Telangana chief minister K Chandrashekar Rao (KCR) is contesting from two constituencies- Gajwel and Kamareddy. In the 2018 election, KCR had won Gajwel with a margin of 58,290 votes.

His son KT Rama Rao is contesting election from Sircilla. Among the Congress candidates, the grand old party's Telangana chief Revanth Reddy is contesting from Kodangal seat. He had won the seat by a margin of over 89,000 votes in 2018.

The Bharatiya Janata Party has fielded Bandi Sanjay from Karimnagar, Soyam Bapu Rao from Adilabad and Dharmapuri Arvind. T Raja Singh, the controversial BJP MLA, has been fielded again from Ghoshmahal seat.

Asaduddin Owaisi's All India Majlis-e-Ittehadul Muslimeen (AIMIM) is contesting on nine seats in the state. Owaisi's younger brother Akbaruddin Owaisi is contesting from Chandrayangutta seat once again.

The state is witnessing a direct contest between the ruling BRS, the Congress and the BJP. Owaisi's AIMIM is also contesting elections. KCR is seeking a straight third term in office as the chief minister.

In the 2018 assembly election, KCR's Bharat Rashtra Samithi (then TRS) had swept the polls by winning 88 of 119 seats, this after he had called for elections six months before the assembly's five-year term ended. The TRS vote share increased from 34.04% to 46.86%.

The Maha Kootami alliance of the Congress, Telugu Desam Party (TDP), Communist Party of India (CPI) and the Telangana Jana Samithi (TJS) – managed to win just 21 seats. The combined vote share of the Congress, TDP, CPI, and TJS decreased from 40.46% to 32.69%.

The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) ended up with one seat.

The All-India Majlis-e-Ittehadul Muslimeen (AIMIM), headed by Asaduddin Owaisi, has retained seven seats, while independent candidates won the remaining three seats in the previous election.
Stay Tuned: Telangana Election Results 2023 LIVE Updates
Stay Tuned: Telangana Election Results 2023 LIVE Updates more

All Constituencies

Telangana Election 2023 Constituency List FAQ

  • When was Telangana formed?

    Telangana was formed on June 2, 2014 with Hyderabad as its capital. The state was carved out of Andhra Pradesh. On October 3, 2013, the Union Cabinet had approved the creation of Telangana. The Bill for the same was passed by the Lok Sabha and Rajya Sabha on February 8, 2014, supported by both the BJP as well as Congress. The President of India also gave his consent for the Telangana Bill after which it was published in the Gazette on March 1, 2014.

  • How many assembly seats are there in Telangana?

    The Telangana assembly comprises 119 elected legislators or members of legislative assembly (MLA).

  • When were the last assembly elections held in Telangana?

    The last assembly elections were held in Telangana on December 7, 2018 to constitute the second legislative assembly since the formation of the state.

  • Who won the 2018 assembly elections in Telangana?

    The Telangana Rashtra Samithi (now BRS) led by K Chandrashekar Rao swept the 2018 Telangana assembly elections, winning 88 out of 119 seats.

  • Who is the current chief minister of Telangana?

    K Chandrashekar Rao, also known as KCR, is currently the chief minister of Telangana. He has been serving as the CM since 2014, the year Telangana was carved out of Andhra Pradesh.

  • Which parties are participating in the 2023 assembly elections in Telangana?

    K Chandrashekar Rao (KCR)-led Bharat Rashtra Samithi, the Congress, the All India Majlis-e-Ittehadul Muslimeen (AIMIM) and the Bharatiya Janata Party are among the prominent parties participating in the 2023 assembly elections.

  • How many seats did Congress, AIMIM and BJP win in the 2018 assembly elections?

    In the 2018 assembly elections, the Congress won 19 seats. It was a part of the Maha Kootami – the grand alliance, also comprising the Telugu Desam Party (TDP), Communist Party of India (CPI) and the Telangana Jana Samithi (TJS). The alliance won 21 seats. The BJP won a single seat. On the other hand, Asaduddin Owaisi's AIMIM won seven seats. Independent candidates won the remaining three seats.

Story Saved
Live Score
Saved Articles
My Reads
Sign out
New Delhi 0C
Friday, April 19, 2024
Start 14 Days Free Trial Subscribe Now
Follow Us On