Saharanpur Nagar, Uttar Pradesh Assembly Election 2022 – Get Saharanpur Nagar constituency news updates and complete details | Hindustan Times

Uttar Pradesh Election 2022: Saharanpur Nagar Assembly Seat

Saharanpur Nagar Up Assembly Election 2022
Results Awaited
Trailing/Runner up
Results Awaited

Uttar Pradesh Election: Saharanpur Nagar Assembly Constituency 2022

Saharanpur Nagar is one of the 403 Uttar Pradesh Legislative Assembly Constituencies that comes under the Saharanpur district. Uttar Pradesh Assembly Election 2022 for Saharanpur Nagar was held on February 14 and the result was declared on March 10.

In 2017, the Saharanpur Nagar assembly seat had 3,93,527 registered voters. Of the, 2,10,503 were male and 1,83,024 were female voters. 0.2% of votes were casted for NOTA.

What happened last time

In the 2017 Uttar Pradesh Legislative Assembly Election, there were 13 candidates in the fray from Saharanpur Nagar constituency. Saharanpur Nagar was one of 47 seats won by the Samajwadi Party. It was a close contest with Samajwadi Party's Sanjay Garg winning the election upstaging Bharatiya Janata Party's Rajiv Gumber by a margin of just 4,636 votes.

The top two candidates split 91.9% of votes between them. Samajwadi Party's Sanjay Garg got a total of 1,27,210 votes, while Bharatiya Janata Party's Rajiv Gumber secured 1,22,574 votes. Bahujan Samaj Party's candidate Mukesh Dixit secured 17,350 votes to finish at the third place. The top three parties got 46.8%, 45.1% and 6.4% respectively.

In Uttar Pradesh Assembly election 2012, Bharatiya Janata Party's Raghav Lakhanpal beat Indian National Congress's Saleem Ahmed by 12,626 votes.


Uttar Pradesh Election 2022


In the era of Agniveers, a village of ‘faujis’ echoes discontent

Updated on Apr 25, 2024 04:00 AM IST

While locals advocate for the resumption of the old recruitment programme, many hope that the government at least reviews the Agnipath scheme.

The Military Heroes Memorial Inter College in Bulandhshahr’s Saidpur village
ByS Raju, Saidpur( Bulandshahr)

Quota for Muslims in Telangana and Andhra back in focus

On January 20, 2013, the Supreme Court, while allowing the 4% quota to continue in Andhra Pradesh, referred it to a special constitutional bench

Muslims offer Eid al-Fitr prayer in Mumbai on April 11.(AP)
Updated on Apr 25, 2024 04:00 AM IST
By, Hyderabad

Uddhav Thackeray says BJP’s ‘Surat Pattern’ not good for democracy and nation

Thackeray said for the past 10 years, dictatorship has been rising in India under PM Narendra Modi and Surat is the epicentre of the problem.

Mumbai: Shiv Sena (UBT) chief Uddhav Thackeray during a press conference at Bandra in Mumbai, Sunday, April 21, 2024.(PTI)
Updated on Apr 25, 2024 04:00 AM IST

Yogi Adityanath tears into Congress manifesto, advocates ‘wisdom’ in voting

Yogi Adityanath also said this could be the first election where the country seemed reassured of the election outcome.

Yogi said the Congress’s caste census pitch was just an attempt to back its “dangerous” view of redistributing resources, ushering in “Sharia law” and a “Talibani-mindset.” (Pic for representation)
Updated on Apr 25, 2024 03:50 AM IST

PM Modi corners Congress after Sam Pitroda fuels wealth row

Debate sparks as Indian PM Modi criticizes Congress for inheritance tax remarks. Rahul Gandhi supports wealth redistribution.

Prime Minister Narendra Modi holds a roadshow with Madhya Pradesh Chief Minister Mohan Yadav in support of the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) candidate from Bhopal seat Alok Sharma for the second phase of the Lok Sabha elections, in Bhopal on Wednesday. (ANI)
Updated on Apr 25, 2024 04:09 AM IST
By, New Delhi

‘Best manifesto by Congress in 70 years,’ says Mehbooba Mufti amid row

Mehbooba Mufti's remarks have come in the backdrop of PM Narendra Modi accusing the Congress party of favouring muslims through its manifesto.

Former J&K chief minister and the PDP president Mehbooba Mufti (PTI)
Published on Apr 24, 2024 07:18 PM IST

Congress leader behind manifesto on Modi's claim: ‘Point out one paragraph’

"Ask him (PM Modi) to point out one paragraph in the manifesto which will lead to the conclusion that we are appeasing any section," P Chidambaram said.

Former finance minister P Chidambaram. (File)
Published on Apr 24, 2024 04:50 PM IST

Lok Sabha elections Phase 2: Key constituencies going to polls in Karnataka

In Karnataka, the second phase of the Lok Sabha elections will seal the fate of BJP leader Tejasvi Surya, former chief minister HD Kumaraswamy and DK Suresh.

Bengaluru: Home minister Amit Shah with BJP's Bengaluru South candidate Tejasvi Surya. (PTI file photo)
Published on Apr 24, 2024 12:28 PM IST

Lok Sabha election: Modi freed country from symbols of slavery, says Shah

Lok Sabha election 2024 phase 2 highlights: The second voting phase includes Wayanad, the constituency from which Congress leader Rahul Gandhi is contesting.

Live live Lok Sabha election 2024 phase 2 highlights: Union home minister Amit Shah addresses gathering in Varanasi on Wednesday.(PTI)
Updated on Apr 24, 2024 11:26 PM IST

Repolling in 8 Arunachal Pradesh stations for assembly elections today

Repolling in Arunachal Pradesh: Voting across eight polling stations began at 6am and will go on till 2pm.

Reports of violence and damage to Electronic Voting Machines (EVMs) emerged during the assembly elections at eight polling booths in Arunachal Pradesh. (ANI Photo) (ANI)
Published on Apr 24, 2024 06:36 AM IST
Story Saved
Live Score
Saved Articles
My Reads
Sign out
New Delhi 0C
Thursday, April 25, 2024
Start 14 Days Free Trial Subscribe Now
Follow Us On