BJP races ahead of Congress in early trends, CM Pushkar Dhami trailing - Hindustan Times

BJP ahead in 44 seats, CM Dhami leads with slender margin; Harish Rawat trails

By, New Delhi
Mar 10, 2022 11:14 AM IST

Uttarakhand Assembly election result 2022: Updated data available on the Election Commission website showed, the BJP was ahead in 44 seats, Congress in 22 and others from four seats.

The ruling Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) was ahead of the Congress in Uttarakhand with 44 of its party candidates leading on Thursday, according to early trends available.

In the hill state of Uttarakhand, the BJP is leading in 37 seats.(HT_PRINT)
In the hill state of Uttarakhand, the BJP is leading in 37 seats.(HT_PRINT)

According to data available on the Election Commission website for 70 of the  that went to polls, the Congress was ahead in 22 seats, BSP and two independents leading from two seats each.

The polling was held in the state on February 14 with more than 65 per cent of the electorate casting their votes.

For all updates on Uttarakhand election

The ruling BJP is eyeing a second consecutive term in office, a first in the state's 21-year history. Chief minister Pushkar Singh Dhami, who had been trailing in early trends, is currenty leading by 75 votes from Khatima constituency.

Routed in the 2017 Assembly polls with a tally of 11 seats against the BJP's 57, the Congress, led by former CM Harish Rawat, is trying to stage a comeback. Rawat, however, is trailing by about 7,000 votes from Lalkuwa constituency.

Besides Dhami, prominent BJP candidates who contested the polls are ministers Satpal Maharaj, Bansidhar Bhagat, Subodh Uniyal, Arvind Pandey, Dhan Singh Rawat and Rekha Arya, and state unit president Madan Kaushik.

Important Congress leaders whose fate will be decided include Rawat, former minister Yashpal Arya, state Congress president Ganesh Godiyal and Leader of Opposition in the fourth assembly Pritam Singh.

(With inputs from agencies)

Share this article
Story Saved
Live Score
Saved Articles
My Reads
Sign out
New Delhi 0C
Thursday, July 18, 2024
Start 14 Days Free Trial Subscribe Now
Follow Us On