In Bhupendra Patel 2.0 cabinet, 16 ministers sworn in; only one woman | LIST

Dec 12, 2022 04:25 PM IST

Gujarat cabinet ministers list: At full strength the cabinet is expected to have around 25-28 names, with around 10-12 of cabinet rank and the others of ministers of state (MoS) rank.

Bhupendra Patel was sworn in as chief minister of Gujarat for a second term on Monday afternoon, with prime minister Narendra Modi union ministers Amit Shah, Smriti Irani, and Rajnath Singh, and leaders of states ruled by the Bharatiya Janata Party, or their allies, in attendance. The BJP claimed a landslide in the prime minister's state last week, claiming 156 of 182 seats.

Outgoing (and incoming) Gujarat chief minister Bhupendra Patel addressesthe newly-elected BJP MLAs' at the party office in Gandhinagar on Saturday. (ANI Photo)
Outgoing (and incoming) Gujarat chief minister Bhupendra Patel addressesthe newly-elected BJP MLAs' at the party office in Gandhinagar on Saturday. (ANI Photo)

Apart from Bhupendra Patel, governor Acharya Devvrat also administered the oath to 16 newly elected MLAs who will from the chief minister's 2.0 cabinet.

Of the new ministers, there is only one woman - Bhanuben Babariya.

READ | Who is Bhanuben Babariya? Only woman in Gujarat cabinet 2.0

List of ministers sworn in today:

Bachubhai KhabadDevgadh Baria
Parshottam SolankiBhavnagar (rural)
Harsh SanghaviMajura
Jagdish VishwakarmaNikol
Rushikesh PatelVisnagar
Raghavji PatelJamnagar (rural)
Balwantsinh RajputSidhpur
Mukeshbhai Zinabhai PatelOlpad
Kuvarjibhai Narshibhai HalpatiMandvi (ST)
Kanubhai DesaiPardi
Kuvarjibhai BavaliyaJasdan
Dr Kuber DindorSantrampur (ST)
Bhanuben BabariyaRajkot (rural) (SC)
Mulubhai BeraKhambalia
Bhikubhai Chatursinh ParmarModasa
Praful PanseriaKamrej

Bhupendra Patel replaced Vijay Rupani last year as the party sought to ward off anti-incumbency. The 60-year-old 'silent troubleshooter' led the BJP to a big win ahead of elections in other states in 2023 and the 2024 Lok Sabha election.

Full Coverage | 2022 Gujarat Assembly election

In winning its 156 seats, the BJP decimated the Congress (16) and debutants Aam Aadmi Party (five). Bhupendra Patel won Ghatlodia by 1.92 lakh votes.

READ | Bhupendra Patel to continue as Gujarat CM for 2nd term

The BJP has claimed an unprecedented seventh consecutive term in Gujarat.

READ | Bhupendra Patel: A veteran leader who has worn many hats

Who else could join chief minister Patel's new cabinet?

The final Patel 2.0 cabinet will be a mix of lawmakers from various caste and districts, sources said, indicating the BJP's attempts to keep communities that voted for it happy. It will finally have 25-28 ministers; 10-12 of cabinet rank.

New faces like Alpesh Thakor may be inducted later, a party functionary told Hindustan Times. Thakor is an OBC leader from Gandhinagar (south) who was the Congress MLA from Radhanpur when he quit to join the BJP in 2019.

Others who may be inducted later are former ministers like Shankar Chaudhary, (health), Purnesh Modi (roads and transport) and Jitu Vaghani (education).

With input from PTI

Get Latest India Newsalong with Latest Newsand Top Headlinesfrom India and around the world.

    Follow the latest breaking news and developments from India and around the world with Hindustan Times' newsdesk. From politics and policies to the economy and the environment, from local issues to national events and global affairs, we've got you covered.

Story Saved
Saved Articles
My Reads
My Offers
Sign out
New Delhi 0C
Saturday, March 25, 2023
Start 15 Days Free Trial Subscribe Now
Register Free and get Exciting Deals