‘People rejected Cong’s misrule': Raje credits PM Modi for BJP's win in Raj | Latest News India - Hindustan Times

‘People rejected Cong’s misrule': Vasundhara Raje credits PM Modi for BJP's win in Raj

Dec 03, 2023 03:08 PM IST

Rajasthan election results 2023: Vasundhara Raje won from Jhalrapatan, a constituency which she has represented since 2003, by a margin of over 51,000 votes.

Bharatiya Janata Party leader Vasundhara Raje on Sunday hailed Prime Minister Narendra Modi, Union home minister Amit Shah and Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) chief JP Nadda for the stellar performance of the saffron party in Rajasthan.

"On party's lead in Rajasthan, BJP leader Vasundhara Raje Scindia says, “This victory is of the mantra of 'Sabka saath, sabka vishwas and sabka prayaas' given by PM Modi. It is the victory of the guarantee given by the PM. It is also the victory of the strategy given by Amit Shah and the able leadership provided by Nadda ji,” the former chief minister, who is said to be in the race to helm the desert state again, said in a briefing.

Rajasthan Election Results 2023 LIVE Coverage

“Most importantly, it's a victory for our party workers. It is a victory of the people who rejected the Congress misrule and accepted the BJP's Suraj,” Raje was quoted by PTI as saying. The BJP veteran won Jhalrapatan by a margin of 53,193 votes, defeating Ramlal of the Congress.

BJP leader Vasundhara Raje. (X/ANI)
BJP leader Vasundhara Raje. (X/ANI)

The first woman chief minister of Rajasthan, Raje governed the state twice from 2003 to 2008 and then from 2013 to 2018. After the saffron party lost power in 2018, she chose distance from the party and was absent from its meetings and programmes.

There was a loud clamour from Raje’s supporters to project her as the chief ministerial candidate but the BJP opted for collective leadership. The saffron party, however, gave tickets to over 40 of her supporters.

The BJP is currently leading on 114 seats and is set to form the next government in Rajasthan, the state that has a history of changing governments after every five years. The Congress, which is ruling the state under Ashok Gehlot, is leading on only 70 seats.

Now catch your favourite game on Crickit. Anytime Anywhere. Find out how

Get World Cup ready with Crickit! From live scores to match stats, catch all the action here. Explore now!

See more

Get Current Updates on India News, Budget 2024, Arunachal CM Oath Ceremony Live, Weather Today along with Latest News and Top Headlines from India and around the world.

Share this article
Story Saved
Live Score
Saved Articles
My Reads
Sign out
New Delhi 0C
Monday, June 17, 2024
Start 14 Days Free Trial Subscribe Now
Follow Us On