Telangana election results: Owaisi-led AIMIM retains seven seats in Hyderabad | Latest News India - Hindustan Times

Telangana election results: Owaisi-led AIMIM retains seven seats in Hyderabad

Dec 03, 2023 11:26 PM IST

Asaduddin Owaisi-led AIMIM maintains sway in “Old-City” area of Hyderabad.

Asaduddin Owaisi-led All India Majlis-e-Ittehadul Muslimeen retained seven seats held by it in its bastion of Old City of Hyderabad. The party, which has held on to these seven segments in the outgoing assembly, has been winning from these seats since 2009.

All India Majlis-E-Ittehadul Muslimeen (AIMIM) chief Asaduddin Owaisi (Mohammed Aleemuddin)
All India Majlis-E-Ittehadul Muslimeen (AIMIM) chief Asaduddin Owaisi (Mohammed Aleemuddin)

Asaduddin Owaisi's younger brother Akbaruddin Owaisi won from his stronghold Chanadrayangutta seat, defeating the Bharat Rashtra Samithi's Muppi Seetharam Reddy by 81,660 votes.

AIMIM had fielded candidates in nine of the 119 assembly segments, while supporting the BRS elsewhere. It lost in Rajendranagar and Jubilee Hills.

Here is the list of winning AIMIM candidates.

Discover the thrill of cricket like never before, exclusively on HT. Explore now!

• Akbaruddin Owaisi- Chandrayangutta Assembly seat

• Zafar Hussain Meraj- Yakutpura Assembly Seat

• Majid Hussain- Nampally assembly seat

• Kausar Mohiuddin- Caravan Assembly seat

• Ahmed Bin Abdullah Balala- Malakpet Assembly Seat

• Mohammad Mubeen- Bahadurpura assembly seat

• Mir Zulfekar Ali- Charminar Assembly seat

Congress unseats KCR from power in Telangana

The Congress led by Revanth Reddy in the state defeated the Bharat Rashtra Samithi, that was ruling the state since its creation in 2014. The party led by K Chandrashekar Rao (KCR) had 101 members in the outgoing assembly, 13 more than the seats won in the 2018 election.

In the just concluded election, the BRS (earlier Telangana Rashtra Samithi) has won 39 seats in the 119-member assembly. KCR contested from two seats, Gajwel and Kamareddy. He won Gajwel by over 45,000 votes. However, the BRS chief lost to Katipali Venkata Ramana Reddy of the BJP, who also defeated Telangana Congress chief Revanth Reddy, to win Kamareddy constituency.

The victory in Telangana is Congress's second in south India after it won Karnataka in May this year. It is a consolation win for the saffron party which lost to the Bharatiya Janata Party in the Hindi speaking states of Madhya Pradesh, Rajasthan and Chhattisgarh.

Unveiling 'Elections 2024: The Big Picture', a fresh segment in HT's talk show 'The Interview with Kumkum Chadha', where leaders across the political spectrum discuss the upcoming general elections. Watch Now!

Get Updates on India News, PM Narendra Modi Jammu Visit Live , Farmers Protest Live alongwith the Latest News and Top Headlines from India and around the the world.
Share this article

    Follow the latest breaking news and developments from India and around the world with Hindustan Times' newsdesk. From politics and policies to the economy and the environment, from local issues to national events and global affairs, we've got you covered.

Story Saved
Live Score
Saved Articles
My Reads
Sign out
New Delhi 0C
Wednesday, February 21, 2024
Start 14 Days Free Trial Subscribe Now
Follow Us On