‘Will attend Rahul yatra in Agra’: Akhilesh after SP-Cong seat pact announced | Latest News India - Hindustan Times

‘Will attend Rahul’s yatra in Agra,' declares Akhilesh day after SP-Congress seat pact announced

By, New Delhi
Feb 22, 2024 09:14 PM IST

The Congress leader's Bharat Jodo Nyay Yatra will be in Agra on Sunday.

A day after Samajwadi Party (SP) and Congress sealed their seat-sharing deal in Uttar Pradesh for the forthcoming Lok Sabha election, SP chief Akhilesh Yadav on Thursday declared that he will attend Congress leader Rahul Gandhi's Bharat Jodo Nyay Yatra in Agra on February 25.

A file picture of Akhilesh Yadav and Rahul Gandhi (File Photo/Reuters)
A file picture of Akhilesh Yadav and Rahul Gandhi (File Photo/Reuters)

Also Read: Congress keeps Raebareli, Amethi, Varanasi in 17-seat deal with Akhilesh Yadav

“I will attend the yatra. They will release soon a detailed programme. Once they share details of their Agra programme, I will go,” he said.

HT launches Crick-it, a one stop destination to catch Cricket, anytime, anywhere. Explore now!

Earlier too, the former Uttar Pradesh chief minister was invited by the Congress to accompany Rahul, in the grand old party's earlier bastions of Amethi and Raebareli. However, with seat-sharing talks between the two sides going nowhere, Yadav, skipped the Gandhi-led march, which entered Uttar Pradesh on February 16 from the neighbouring Bihar.

However, a call from Congress general secretary Priyanka Gandhi Vadra, Rahul's sister, led to the seat pact being finalised. Under the agreement, Congress will field candidates on 17 out of the state's 80 seats, and the SP will take the remaining 63 seats.

Also Read: A phone call from Priyanka, Akhilesh's ‘all’s well' and Cong accepts 17 seats

Besides Amethi and Raebareli, the grand old party will field candidates in Fatehpur Sikri, Amroha, Saharanpur, Prayagraj, Maharajganj, Varanasi, Bulandshahr, Jhansi, Ghaziabad, Mathura, Sitapur, Barabanki, Kanpur, Bansgaon, and Deoria.

Uttar Pradesh, the country's most populous state, has 80 seats – the highest – in the 543-member Lok Sabha. Of these, the Congress currently holds only Raebareli, which was won by Sonia Gandhi, Rahul and Priyanka's mother. Sonia Gandhi, however, has now entered Parliament via the Rajya Sabha, with Priyanka being the frontrunner to make her electoral debut from her mother's erstwhile constituency.

Discover the pivotal moments that shaped India's electoral journey on the Eras section of our exclusive Elections product. Access all content absolutely free on the HT App. Download now!

Get Current Updates on India News, Elections 2024, Election 2024 Date along with Latest News and Top Headlines from India and around the world.
Share this article

    Follow the latest breaking news and developments from India and around the world with Hindustan Times' newsdesk. From politics and policies to the economy and the environment, from local issues to national events and global affairs, we've got you covered.

Story Saved
Live Score
Saved Articles
My Reads
Sign out
New Delhi 0C
Wednesday, April 24, 2024
Start 14 Days Free Trial Subscribe Now
Follow Us On