New Delhi360C
Sunday, May 19, 2024

EPL 2023-24

The most watched league in the world, the English Premier League (EPL) is the top division of England's football pyramid in which 20 of the best teams battle for supremacy. Each season of the Premier League takes place between August and May. Every single campaign of the Premier League features a total of 380 matches in which teams play against each other home and away throughout the season. Founded by the FA Premier League on 20 February 1992, the English top flight has one billion homes watching the beautiful game in as many as 188 countries. During the 2018-2019 season, 3.2 billion people watched the Premier League as the EPL became the most viewed and most popular football league on the planet.

Each team earns three points for a win in the English Premier League. One point is awarded for a draw, and one if the team ends up registering a defeat. The club with the most points at the end of the season is crowned the winner of the Premier League. Clubs who finish in the top four of the Premier League enter the next season's UEFA Champions League group stages. The team achieving the fifth rank at season end enters the UEFA Europa League. The next best-placed teams of the EPL enter the competition if the winners of the FA Cup and/or League Cup seal their spots through their league position.

Clubs finishing sixth or lower have a chance to enter the UEFA Europa Conference League. Teams in the bottom three of the league standings at season end are relegated to the Championship which is the second tier of English football. The relegated teams are replaced by sides who received promotion from the Championship. The Championship teams that finish first and second place and third through the end-of-season playoffs are eligible to replace the relegated teams in the next season of the Premier League.

If any team ends the season with the same number of points, the ranking of the club is determined by goal difference in the Premier League standings. Goal difference is followed by the number of goals scored, then the club with the most points in the head-to-head matches, then the team scoring the most away goals in the head-to-head encounters.

Since the inception of the Premier League, Manchester United have won 13 EPL titles in 31 seasons so far. Besides the Red Devils, Arsenal, Chelsea, Manchester City, Blackburn Rovers, Leicester City and Liverpool have also lifted the famous trophy in the English top flight. Manchester City hold the record for winning the EPL title with the biggest winning margin.

Man City finished the season 19 points ahead of second-placed Manchester United in 2017/18. Man City also sealed the EPL title with the narrowest winning margin of +8 goal difference in the 2011-2012 season. Sergio Aguero's famous stoppage time goal on the final day of the season powered Man City to a memorable title triumph. Arsene Wenger-coached Arsenal side is the only team to finish the Premier League season unbeaten. The Gunners became ‘The Invincibles’ in 2003/04 when the London-based club finished the season 11 points ahead of Chelsea. A season after Leicester City avoided relegation, the Foxes scripted one of the biggest underdog stories by winning the Premier League in 2015/16.

Gareth Barry (653) has recorded the highest number of EPL appearances while Ryan Giggs (22) featured in most seasons of the English top flight. With 260 goals, Alan Shearer is the all-time leading goal scorer in the Premier League. Erling Haaland (36) has netted the most goals in a single Premier League season.
…read more

Points Table


Manchester City 









Aston Villa 


PL: Played, W: Won, D: Draw, L: Loss, GD: Goals Difference, PTS: Points


  • How does the English Premier League (EPL) work?

    In the English Premier League, a team is awarded three points for a victory, one point for a draw, and another point if the team faces a defeat. The club accumulating the highest number of points by the end of the season is declared the champion of the Premier League.

  • How long is the EPL (English Premier League) season?

    An EPL season usually lasts nine months and generally takes place from August to May.

  • What happens if two teams have the same points and goal difference in the EPL (English Premier League) standings?

    In the event that two or more teams finish the season with equal points, the ranking of the clubs is determined by goal difference in the Premier League standings. Following goal difference, the order is determined by the number of goals scored. If there is still a tie, the ranking is then decided by the team with the most points in their head-to-head matches. If the tie persists, the team scoring the most away goals in the head-to-head encounters takes precedence.

  • Which team has won the English Premier League (EPL) most times?

    Manchester United are the most successful English Premier League team of all time, having won the title a record 13 times.