Anti Incumbency: Get Latest News, Photos and Videos along with latest updates on Anti Incumbency | Hindustan Times



Latest from anti-incumbency

With no level-playing field, elections are a mismatch

The elections are a mismatch, a bit like an India versus Bangladesh cricket game, where more often than not there will be only one winner.

The BJP has the clear advantage of the Modi factor in the last decade. (Arun Sharma/HT)
Published on Dec 14, 2023 10:00 PM IST

Loss due to anti-incumbency, impact of Covid: MNF chief Zoramthanga

MNF, which had bagged 26 of the total 40 seats in the state in 2018, managed to secure just 10 seats this time

Outgoing Mizoram chief minister Zoramthanga (HT file)
Updated on Dec 04, 2023 07:11 PM IST

How BJP scripted history to wrest back state from Baghel’s Congress

Despite the lack of a clear state leader, the BJP's focus on welfare and anti-corruption, along with PM Modi as the face, led to its unprecedented victory in Chhattisgarh, winning 54 seats. The party strategically announced candidates for weaker seats in advance and fielded senior leaders. They also targeted local issues and highlighted corruption allegations against the Congress. The BJP's shift in announcing welfare schemes in its manifesto also resonated with voters. Overall, the Congress was unable to offer anything substantial beyond welfare schemes.

Navi Mumbai, India - Dec. 3, 2023:BJP party workers celebrate party's victory in Rajasthan, Madhya Pradesh and Chhattisgarh at Shivaji Maharaj Chowk Vashi in Navi Mumbai, India, on Sunday, December 3, 2023. (Photo by Bachchan Kumar/ HT PHOTO) (HT PHOTO)
Updated on Dec 04, 2023 08:20 AM IST

In Rajasthan, local anti-incumbency against MLAs reason for Congress loss: Data

There does seem to be merit in the argument that local anti-incumbency against MLAs played a bigger role in this year’s Rajasthan results

BJP workers celebrating the party’s victory in three states. (HT Photo)
Updated on Dec 04, 2023 12:09 PM IST

Poll boost for BJP weakens Congress hand

The BJP’s election machine remains efficient – and hungry – while the Congress fails to lead opposition challenge in Hindi heartland

Prime Minister Narendra Modi greets the supporters during celebrations after the party's victory in elections to the Legislative Assemblies of Madhya Pradesh, Rajasthan and Chhattisgarh, at BJP headquarters,at BJP Headquarters in New Delhi, (Sanchit Khanna/ Hindustan Times)
Published on Dec 03, 2023 10:16 PM IST
ByHT Editorial
Story Saved
Live Score
Saved Articles
My Reads
Sign out
New Delhi 0C
Friday, March 01, 2024
Start 14 Days Free Trial Subscribe Now
Follow Us On