Sad: Get Latest News, Photos and Videos along with latest updates on Sad | Hindustan Times



Latest from sad

SAD fields Surjit Kaur for Jalandhar West bypoll

SAD fields Surjit Kaur, BSP nominates Binder Kumar Lakha for Jalandhar West bypoll. SAD has not contested seat for over 2 decades due to BJP alliance.

Voting for the Jalandhar West bypoll will be held on July 10.
Updated on Jun 21, 2024 09:20 AM IST
By, Jalandhar

Jalandhar West assembly bypoll: SAD struggling to find ‘suitable’ candidate

SAD has not contested assembly elections from Jalandhar West for the past over two decades as the BJP, which remained in alliance with SAD from 1997 onwards till 2020, contested elections from this assembly segment. Even with alliance with the BSP in 2022, the Akali Dal handed over the seat to its coalition partner. The SAD-BSP candidate, Anil Meena polled only 4,125 votes in 2022.

With no strong political base in the reserved Jalandhar West constituency, the Shiromani Akali Dal (SAD) is in a dilemma over finding a suitable candidate for the byelection slated for July 10. (Representational image)
Updated on Jun 19, 2024 05:08 AM IST
By, Jalandhar

Nearly 80% SAD candidates lose security deposits

SAD could register win only on one seat, Bathinda, the Badals’ home turf, which party president Sukhbir Badal’s wife Harsimrat Kaur Badal won for the fourth consecutive term, starting from the general elections of 2009, 2014, 2019 and 2024.

Two Shiromani Akali Dal candidates, who were able to save their deposits are Anil Joshi, who polled 1,62,896 votes, and Ferozepur candidate Nardev Singh Bobby Mann, who got 2,53,645 votes.
Updated on Jun 06, 2024 06:36 AM IST
By, Chandigarh

Five rural segments gave Harsimrat decisive lead

The five assembly segments from where former Union minister Harsimrat Kaur Badal got the decisive lead include Lambi, Budhlada, Bathinda Rural, Talwandi Sabo and Bhucho Mandi, all predominantly rural segments.

The Shiromani Akali Dal got 3,76,558 votes, a jump of 26% as compared to the 2022 polls in the nine assembly segments of the Bathinda seat.
Updated on Jun 06, 2024 06:28 AM IST
ByVishal Joshi

SAD’s Chandumajra among 25 candidates lose security deposit in Anandpur Sahib

Among the candidates who lost their deposit, 13 contested independently; all these candidates got fewer than one-sixth of the total number of valid votes cast for the seat, which, as per election commission rules, means that they will not get a refund of their deposit

Apart from this, total NOTA vote count in the constituency stood at 6,402, including 1,177 from Mohali, 1,166 from Kharar and 926 from Dera Bassi. (HT file photo for representation)
Published on Jun 05, 2024 06:11 PM IST
By, Mohali
Story Saved
Live Score
Saved Articles
My Reads
Sign out
New Delhi 0C
Saturday, June 22, 2024
Start 14 Days Free Trial Subscribe Now
Follow Us On