By Neha Yadav
Published Dec 11, 2023

Hindustan Times
In Focus

Photo Credits: Pexels

Abrogation of Article 370: All you need to know

On August 5, 2019, the central government revoked the special status granted to Jammu and Kashmir under Article 370 and bifurcated the state into two separate union territories– Jammu & Kashmir and Ladakh. 

On December 11, 2023, the Supreme Court upheld the centre's decision to abrogate Article 370, which granted special status on the erstwhile state of Jammu and Kashmir.

Here is everything you need to know about  Article 370 and Article 35A of Constitution in Jammu and Kashmir.

What is Article 370?

Article 370 of the Indian Constitution is a “temporary provision” which grants special autonomous status to Jammu and Kashmir. 

Jammu and Kashmir was accorded the special status under Article 370 under Part XXI of the Constitution which dealt with “Temporary, Transitional and Special provisions”.

It allowed the state of Jammu and Kashmir to have its own constitution, flag and a significant autonomy over internal matters, except defense, communications and foreign affairs.

What is Article 35A?

Article 35A was incorporated in the Constitution by a Presidential Order in 1954 to continue the old provisions of the territory regulations under Article 370.

Article 35A denied property rights to a woman who married a person from outside the state. It disallowed people from outside the state from buying and owning immovable property in the state.

It also denied people from outside Jammu and Kashmir from settling in the state permanently and availing state-sponsored scholarship schemes. It forbade J-K government from hiring non-permanent residents.