By Khushi Pal
Published Dec 03, 2023

Hindustan Times
In Focus

Assembly election results 2023: Meet the top CM contenders

The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) and the Congress are yet to name their chief minister candidates in the Assembly Elections 2023. Here is a look at the next possible CMs of Madhya Pradesh, Rajasthan, Chhattisgarh, and Telangana.

Shivraj Singh Chouhan (Madhya Pradesh)

A prominent leader of BJP, Chouhan is the longest-serving chief minister of Madhya Pradesh. In 2023, he contested the MP Assembly elections from the Budhni constituency which has been a stronghold for him.

Mahant Balaknath (Rajasthan)

A Lok Sabha MP from Alwar, Balakanth is considered a front runner as the chief ministerial candidate. He comes from the Nath community and enjoys a huge following in Alwar.

Vasundhara Raje (Rajasthan)

The BJP leader joined politics in 1984 and is currently the party's national vice president. She is among the top contenders in the race to becoming the chief minister. 

Raman Singh (Chhattisgarh)

The former chief minister is BJP's front-runner to take charge again. Singh has served as the chief minister for three terms.

A Revanth Reddy (Telangana)

Reddy, 54, has led the Congress to victory in Telangana barely two years after he was appointed as the president of the party’s state unit.